Evangel, Hope players earn ACSC honors


Nine Evangel Christian School and five Hope Christian School football players were named to the 2011 Alabama Christian Sports Conference All-Conference Team.

Players selected from Evangel were: senior running back Hayden Brown, sophomore center Aaron Clayton, senior tight end Aaron Walker, sophomore guard Clark Bee, senior defensive end Josh Flanders, junior defensive tackle Micah Hoge, sophomore linebacker Grant Webster and junior kicker Charlie Bell. Sophomore Clay O’Neal was selected as the team’s special teams player.

Players selected from Hope were: sophomore wide receiver Dillon Thompson, senior linebacker Andrew Whitson, freshman linebacker Jonathan Misso, freshman defensive back Reid Allen. Senior punter Ben Nafe also made the squad and was a nominee for the ACSC Christian Character Award.

Evangel senior Brentley Wells, a tight end and defensive back for the Lightning, was the recipient of the Christian Character Award.