School system names teachers of the year

From left, Superintendent Randy Fuller, High School Teacher of the Year Jeff Schrupp, Middle School Teacher of the Year Evelyn Moore and Elementary School Teacher of the Year Jeff Norris. (Reporter photo/Amy Jones)

By AMY JONES / Associate Editor

NORTH SHELBY — The Shelby County School System and the Greater Shelby County Education Foundation honored its teachers of the year at a reception and ceremony at Oak Mountain High School Dec. 1.

Jeff Norris of Chelsea Intermediate School was named the Elementary School Teacher of the Year, Evelyn Moore of Montevallo Middle School was named the Middle School Teacher of the Year and Jeff Schrupp of Pelham High School was named the High School Teacher of the Year.

Superintendent Randy Fuller said he always looks forward to celebrating teachers’ achievement.

“This is a night that I look forward to every year because we celebrate the best and the brightest in our school district,” he said.

Norris, who has been teaching for six years, said he’s happy to be recognized by his peers. He has spent the last four years as a gifted teacher at Chelsea Intermediate.

“I’m proud to be a representative of my school,” he said. “It’s an honor to be chosen out of that group. I love what I do.”

Moore, a seventh grade language arts teacher, said she was “overwhelmed” to be chosen as the Middle School Teacher of the Year.

“You could pluck any teacher out of my school, Montevallo Middle, and they are all deserving of this award,” Moore said. “They set the bar really high. I’m honored to even be on the stage with these people.”

Schrupp, a 13-year teaching veteran, said teachers work hard to change kids’ lives. He has spent the past six years as an Honors and Advanced Placement history teacher and coach at Pelham High School.

“It’s the highest compliment you can get to be recognized by your peers,” Schrupp said. “It’s nice to be rewarded for what we love to do. There’s a lot of us working hard to shape the future.”

Other Teacher of the Year candidates who were honored included: Denise Eddleman, Calera Elementary; Tracie Davis, Chelsea Park Elementary; Kathryn Billings Hutchinson, Creek View Elementary; Stephen Kearley, Elvin Hill Elementary; Melanie Henderson, Helena Elementary; April Atkins, Helena Intermediate; Ginger Wright Evans, Inverness Elementary; Dennis W. Jones, Meadow View Elementary; Lauren Parker, Montevallo Elementary; Joy Watts, Mt Laurel Elementary; Kim Polson, Oak Mountain Elementary; Tammi Carr, Oak Mountain Intermediate; Jennifer Parker, Shelby Elementary; Amber Willis, Thompson Intermediate; Amanda Hargis, Valley Elementary; Leslie A. Cranford, Valley Intermediate; Amanda Jean Campbell, Vincent Elementary; Emily Gravitt, Wilsonville Elementary; Jennifer Nabors, Calera Middle; Sandy Evers, Chelsea Middle; Rhonda Rosebora Mack, Columbiana Middle; Deborah Newman, Helena Middle; Evelyn Moore, Montevallo Middle; Stephen M. Dearwent, Oak Mountain Middle; Brian Michael, Riverchase Middle; Joseph P. Kervin, Thompson Middle; Linda Roach Moore, Thompson Sixth Grade Center; Burt Stewart, Alternative School; Melissa A. Ellison, Calera High; Jennifer Bailey, Chelsea High; Kay W. Masters, Linda Nolen Learning Center; Perry E. Lawely, Montevallo High; Pam Pugh, Oak Mountain High; Gary Griffith, School of Technology; Carol Creekmore, Shelby County High; Crystal Lamar, Thompson High; and J. Paul Williamson, Vincent Middle/High.

Teachers who were honored for achieving National Board certification include Jeff Norris , Chelsea Intermediate/Shelby Elementary; Brooke Dunham , Chelsea Park Elementary; Kelly Stewart, Chelsea Park Elementary; Robert Barnes, Creek View Elementary; April Atkins, Helena Intermediate; Tami Genry, Helena Intermediate; Amber Howard, Helena Intermediate; Michelle Saindon, Helena Intermediate; LaTonya Borden-Hudson, Mt Laurel Elementary; Kelli Abbott Hayn, Mt Laurel Elementary; Ellen Moon, Oak Mountain Elementary; Sheri Humphrey, Oak Mountain High; Misty Miller, Oak Mountain High; Ashli Polizos, Oak Mountain Middle; Mary Lowery, Pelham High; Kara Burleson, Valley Intermediate; and Joanne Carter, Wilsonville Elementary.