Residents honored at Citizens’ Night

Mary Lou Williams awards Sandra and John Lott with the Citizens of the Year Award at Citizens' Night March 9. (Reporter photo/Christine Boatwright)


MONTEVALLO – Montevallo residents were honored for volunteerism and community support at the 34th annual Citizens’ Night Awards Banquet March 9.

The banquet, which was sponsored by the Montevallo Chamber of Commerce, was held in Anna Irvin Hall at the University of Montevallo.

The first awards were presented by the three Montevallo public schools.

Annie McClain, principal of Montevallo Elementary School, named Lauren Parker as MES’ Teacher of the Year. Montevallo Middle School Principal Sheila Lewis named Evelyn Moore Teacher of the Year and Claire Gray Student Citizen of the Year.

Montevallo High School Assistant Principal Kevin Raybon awarded Cathy Majors the Support Person of the Year plaque.

“She does anything I need her to do. She does it energetically,” he said. “She personifies what we want people to see when they come to Montevallo High School.”

He then named Perry Lawley as MHS’ Teacher of the Year.

The community organization awards began with Terry Sutton, president of the Montevallo Rotary Club, naming Phil Hurst as the Rotarian of the Year. Hilda Hicks, president of the Montevallo Civitan Club, awarded Kate Vogel the Civitan Club Award.

Barbara Broadhead was given the AAUW Pathfinder Award by Faye Roberts.

The Shelby Emergency Assistance Volunteer of the Year was Herschel Hale, who Kimberly Barrett said is a true “Renaissance man” when it comes to volunteering with the SEA.

Joe Williams, chairman of the Boys and Girls Club of Montevallo advisory council, presented the club’s Partner of the Year Award with four children from the club. They award UM President John W. Stewart Jr. with the award, as he and the university partner with the club.