Pelham makes election results official

By NEAL WAGNER / City Editor

Pelham’s new mayor and four of its five City Council members are cleared to take office in early November after the city’s current council presented election certificates to the upcoming officials.

During a noon special-called meeting on Sept. 4 at Pelham City Hall, the city’s current council reviewed the results of the Aug. 28 municipal election and officially declared the winners. Current Council President Teresa Nichols was absent from the meeting.

As a result of the meeting, mayor-elect Gary Waters and incoming council members Rick Hayes, Ron Scott, Karyl Rice and Beth McMillan received their certificates of election from current Mayor Don Murphy.

Murphy said he was “at ease” about the election results, and congratulated Waters and the new and returning City Council members.

“I feel at ease. I’m happy. It’s the choice of the people, and they have spoken,” Murphy said. “Anything I can do to help you, Gary, I’d be happy to do.

“Congratulations to all those who were elected,” Murphy added. “Let’s make Pelham an even better place.”

The council also passed a resolution declaring a runoff election between Place 4 City Council candidates Maurice Mercer and Jim Phillips on Oct. 9. The runoff election will be held on Oct 9 from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. at the Pelham Civic Complex.

All current city councils are required to canvass municipal election results within several days after the election is held in order to “make the unofficial election results official,” said Pelham City Clerk Tom Seale.

Current council members Bill Meadows and Steve Powell, who will not be serving another term on the council, praised the volunteers, city employees and poll workers for helping the election to run smoothly.

“The people spoke, and a decision has been made for the future of Pelham,” Meadows said. “If there’s anything I can do for the new elected officials, you’ve got my number.”

“You’ve got a duty ahead of you,” Powell said. “I have full confidence you will do the right thing.”

Waters and the new City Council members will be sworn-in on Nov. 5.