Hoover appoints Beautification Board members

By AMY JONES / Associate Editor

HOOVER — The Hoover City Council approved the appointments of seven citizens to the Hoover Beautification Board during a regularly scheduled meeting Sept. 17.

Jennifer Gregory, Chris Kirkland, Jo Ann Powell, Colette Scott, Mary Ross Searcy and Michael Zarichnak were reappointed to three-year terms, while Rita Newell, the only new board member, was appointed to a three-year term.

In other news, the Hoover City Council:

-Held a public hearing to consider Jimmy Pate’s request to rezone his property, located at 2201 Shelby County 93 from Shelby County A-1 agriculture to Hoover E-1 single family estate district. The council approved Pate’s request.

-Set a public hearing to consider a request from the city of Hoover to rezone recently annexed property located at 5400 U.S. 280 from Shelby County B-2 general business to Hoover C-2 community business district for Oct. 15. The site is an existing Shell service station.

-Declared the week of Sept. 17-23 as Constitution Week 2012.