Pair of local schools receive $10,000 grants

Valley Elementary School recently received a $10,000 healthy schools grant from Blue Cross Blue Shield of Alabama. (File)

Valley Elementary School recently received a $10,000 healthy schools grant from Blue Cross Blue Shield of Alabama. (File)

By NEAL WAGNER / Managing Editor

A pair of schools in Shelby County will be able to more effectively combat childhood obesity after they each recently received $10,000 from Blue Cross Blue Shield of Alabama.

Creek View Elementary School in Alabaster and Valley Elementary School in Pelham each were notified they had been selected for Blue Cross Blue Shield “Be Healthy” grants in late April.

MVES and VES were among only 28 schools enrolling students in grades kindergarten through sixth-grade statewide to receive the grants for the upcoming 2015-2016 school year.

The schools will use the grants to fund and implement school-based health and wellness programs “emphasizing increased exercise, nutrition education and parental involvement during the school year,” according to Blue Cross Blue Shield.

Statewide, more than 15,000 students will benefit from the program, which is distributing a total of $250,000 to schools throughout the state.

In addition to Creek View and Valley Elementary, Brookwood Forest Elementary in Mountain Brook, Catoma Elementary Montgomery, Challenger Elementary in Huntsville, Chapman P-8 in Huntsville, Clanton Elementary in Chilton County, Deer Valley Elementary in Hoover Erwin Craighead Elementary in Mobile, Glen Iris Elementary in Birmingham, Hartselle Intermediate in Morgan County, Houston Elementary in Talladega and Huffman Middle in Birmingham also won grants up to $10,000.

J.S. Abrams Elementary in Bessemer, Ladonia Elementary in Phenix City, Mt. Olive Primary in Fort Mitchell, Pinecrest Elementary in Sylacauga, Randolph Park Elementary in Anniston, Richland Elementary in Auburn, Shades Cahaba Elementary in Homewood, Slocomb Elementary in Geneva County, Southside Primary in Selma, Tuscaloosa Magnet School, Tuskeegee Public School in Macon County, Union Springs Elementary in Bullock County, Valley Grande Elementary in Dallas County, Westside Elementary in Demopolis and Wrights Mill Road Elementary in Auburn also won grants through the program.