Brakefield, Rakestraw approved for another term

By NEAL WAGNER / Managing Editor

ALABASTER – City Council President Scott Brakefield and Ward 3 Councilwoman Stacy Rakestraw have been approved to serve another four years on the council after no opposition qualified to run against them in the city’s upcoming municipal elections.



During a July 25 meeting, City Council members voted unanimously to declare Brakefield and Rakestraw as “duly elected” to their respective council seats.



Alabaster’s municipal elections will be held from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 23, at the Alabaster First United Methodist Church’s Restore building at 128 Market Center Drive.

The qualifying period for the elections ended on Tuesday, July 18, and Brakefield and Rakestraw were the only two who faced no opposition.

Brakefield, who represents Ward 6, has served on the council since 2008, and has been the council president since 2012. Rakestraw has served on the council for four years. Both will officially begin their next four-year term in November.

On Aug. 23, Alabaster voters will have a chance to decide the City Council races for wards 1, 2, 4, 5 and 7 and the mayoral race.

The following candidates will be on the ballot for each contested race:



Marty Handlon (Incumbent)

Larry Sailes


City Council Ward 1

Lee Cunningham

Sophie Martin (Incumbent)


City Council Ward 2

Rick Ellis

Matthew Penhale


City Council Ward 4

Greg Farrell

Rick Walters (Incumbent)


City Council Ward 5

Russell Bedsole (Incumbent)

Jamia Alexander-Williams

City Council Ward 7

Kerri Bell Pate

Eric Starling