Alabaster swears in 2017-2018 Teen Council

By NEAL WAGNER / Managing Editor

ALABASTER – Those in attendance at the April 10 Alabaster City Council meeting got a chance to see the city’s future leadership, as Mayor Marty Handlon held a swearing-in ceremony for the newest members of the Teen Council.

During the meeting, Handlon administered the oath of office to 29 students from Alabaster’s public and private high schools who applied for and were selected to serve on the upcoming Teen Council session.

Handlon chose the Teen Council members from among dozens of applicants over the past few weeks.

Over the past several years, the Teen Council has grown significantly in numbers, as the group only consisted of 12 teens during its inaugural year in 2014.

During their time serving on the council, the teens will complete a team building day at Family Connection in late April before holding regular meetings with Handlon and will be involved in organizing teen-focused events such as movie nights and a water slide day this summer.

“I’m looking forward to serving with this group,” Handlon said during the April 10 meeting.

The following teens were named to this year’s Teen Council:

Luke Baylis

Blakely Channell

Bryne Ehlers

Bethany Farley

Ryleigh Hughes

Payton Lovett

Clayton Nichols

Maggie O’Neal

Beverly Robinson

Riley Stoneback

Madison Tucker

Will Vickers

Riley Ward

Kole Williams

Victoria Williams

Katelyn Blaes

Yvonne N’dung’u

Bishop Wiedenbach

Noah Brakefield

Gracie Coker

Katherine Lillie

Savanna Rakestraw

Noah Tanner

Abby Grace Walker

Maggie Keller

Mary Katharine Grill

Kylie Williams

Sawyer Pate

Tyger Quarles