Alabaster School Board retains leadership positions

By NEAL WAGNER / Managing Editor

ALABASTER – The two leadership positions on the Alabaster Board of Education will remain unchanged for the upcoming year, after School Board members voted unanimously to re-elect the BOE’s president and vice president during a May 14 meeting.


According to Alabama law, school boards in the state must appoint a president and vice president during their first meeting of May each year.


During the meeting, board members voted unanimously to reappoint Adam Moseley as the BOE’s president and voted to reappoint Derek Henderson as the board’s vice president. Board member Dr. John Myrick nominated Moseley for reappointment and board member Linda Church nominated Henderson for reappointment, and there were no other nominations for the positions.

Moseley and Henderson began serving as board president and vice president, respectively, in May 2013. As president, Moseley presides over the School Board meetings, and Henderson presides over the meetings in Moseley’s absence.

Moseley currently is serving his second five-year term on the School Board, which is set to end in 2022.

Before Moseley became president in 2013, Melanie Shores, who stepped down from the board in March 2013 citing health reasons, served as president. School Board member Ty Quarles served as the vice president before Henderson was elected to the seat in 2013.

Henderson originally was appointed to the School Board by the City Council in 2013 to fill the vacancy left by Shores’ resignation, and was reappointed to another five-year term in 2015, meaning his current term will end in 2020.