ACS names Support Personnel of the Year

By NEAL WAGNER / Managing Editor

ALABASTER – When many people think of a successful school system, their attention likely immediately turns to the teachers, administrators and School Board members. However, the Alabaster Board of Education took time during a recent meeting to shine the spotlight on support staff members who sometimes may be outside of the public eye.

“There is so much that goes into making a school system run, and we want to take the opportunity to recognize some excellent support individuals in our schools,” Alabaster School Superintendent Dr. Wayne Vickers said during a March 11 School Board meeting.

Every year, ACS honors its top support personnel separate from the system’s Teachers of the Year, and dedicates a meeting to honoring them.

During the meeting, Vickers and the BOE members honored the top support staff chosen by their peers at each of the city’s six schools:


-Creek View Elementary School computer lab paraprofessional Heather Lang

-Meadow View Elementary School computer lab paraprofessional Rebecca Dotson

-Thompson Intermediate School English language learner instructional support staff member Jisel Sanchez

-Thompson Sixth Grade Center office manager Brenda Rimmer

-Thompson Middle School administrative assistant Leigh Reeves

-Thompson High School secretary Peggy Kent

-Kent was also named the Alabaster City Schools Support Person of the Year


During the meeting, the School Board also honored its Bus Driver of the Year, Counselor of the Year and Child Nutrition Program Employee of the Year:

-Leslie Farwell was named the CNP Employee of the Year

-Wendy McNish was named the Counselor of the Year

-Jean Webb was named the system’s Bus Driver of the Year