Ellis named to prestigious legislative transportation committee


Alabama Speaker of the House Mac McCutcheon, R-Monrovia, on April 26 announced that State Rep. Corley Ellis, R-Columbiana, will serve as a member of the Permanent Joint Legislative Transportation Committee, which helps determine and prioritize road and bridge highway projects included in the state’s five-year construction plan.

“Every Shelby County resident who travels I-65, Highway 280 or any of the other congested roads in the area understands that we have significant infrastructure needs, and I will work to address those needs as a member of the Joint Legislative Transportation Committee,” Ellis said.

“Roads should be built or improved based upon priorities, not politics, and the transportation issues throughout the Jefferson/Shelby corridor certainly meet that standard. Having served just three years in the Alabama House, I deeply appreciate the confidence and responsibility that Speaker McCutcheon has placed in me, and I will work hard every day to justify his appointment.”

The Joint Legislative Transportation Committee is primarily tasked with reviewing and approving Alabama’s long-range, five-year construction plan for state highway projects. The committee must also approve any deviation from the five-year plan unless a project is directly related to a new or expanding industry commitment.

Additionally, the committee issues a public report to the governor, lieutenant governor, House of Representatives, and Senate within the first 10 legislative days of each annual regular legislative session, comparing actual performance of the Department of Transportation in terms of highway construction, maintenance, and costs of the same, to the original plan for the immediate preceding fiscal year.

The committee consists of 12 members of the Senate appointed by the President of the Senate and 12 members of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker of the House.

Members shall hold office during their terms as legislators and until their successors are appointed.