Skinner becomes county’s first Property Tax Commissioner

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, June 25, 2002

Republican Annette Skinner is Shelby County’s first Property Tax Commissioner.

With 51.66 percent of the vote, current Shelby County Tax Collector Skinner defeated Republican opponent and current Shelby County Commissioner Don Armstrong by a vote of 4,908 to 4,593 in the county’s runoff election held Tuesday, June 25.

The office of Property Tax Commissioner combines the offices of tax assessor and tax collector into one office and was created by a vote of Shelby County residents last year.

Armstrong garnered some 48 percent of the vote, losing by a margin of 315 votes.

In victory, Skinner said, &uot;My motto was ‘Honesty does count.’ And I think tonight proved honesty does count.&uot;

&uot;And I’m grateful to so many people who worked tirelessly on my behalf. My only promise is to keep my door open to everyone and to serve them honestly,&uot; she said.

Armstrong said following his defeat, &uot;She won, and I wish her the best. And I hope what is done in that office is the best for the people.

&uot;We should get our information system updated, and we need to get our collections updated, also.&uot;

Skinner received 46 percent of the vote while Armstrong received 25 percent of the vote on June 4.

Shelby County Commissioner Ted Crockett and the late Johnny Lowe trailed with 21 percent and 8 percent of the vote, respectively.

Both Skinner and Armstrong were optimistic about their public perception following the June 4 ballot.

&uot;I think people supported me because of my 20 years experience and the fact that my door has always been open to Shelby County residents,&uot; said Skinner.

&uot;I think people looked at me and saw a conservative individual who is looking forward to carrying Shelby County into the future with a vision,&uot; Armstrong countered.

Skinner has served as Shelby County’s tax collector for the past 20 years.

Armstrong, who received the support of Tax Accessor Bobbie Reynolds, has served as a member of the Shelby County Commission for the past 12 years.

Both candidates ran on the Republican ballot and face no Democratic opposition in November