Qualifying ends for June, November elections

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, April 6, 2004

Shelby County Republicans and Democrats have finalized their plans to run for a variety of offices this year. As of qualifying day last Friday, numerous incumbents will face both primary and general election competition.

The primary election is set for June and the general election is set for November.

Shelby County’s longtime Juvenile Court Judge Patti Smith announced plans several months ago to run for Place 2 on the Alabama Supreme Court.

Until Friday, however, she faced no Republican opposition in the primary. On the final day of qualifying, &uot;Walking&uot; Pam Baschab of Elberta, Ala., in Baldwin County qualified to run against Smith in the primary.

Baschab was elected to the Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals in November 1996.

Five Shelby Countians have qualified with the Republican Party to replace Judge Smith as District Judge, Place 1.

They are Russelle &uot;Russ&uot; Hubbard and James &uot;Jim&uot; Kramer, both of Alabaster; Wayne Keith of Saginaw; and Corey Moore and Stella Tipton, both of north Shelby County.

Three of the other judgeships in the county are up for election this year as well. Of those, only incumbent Circuit Judge for Place 4 Dan Reeves of Shelby faces competition in the Republican primary. Donna Beaulieu has also qualified for that position.

Incumbent Circuit Court Judges Hub Harrington of Indian Springs and Mike Joiner of north Shelby County will be unopposed in both the primary and the general election.

Incumbent District Attorney Robby Owens of Helena qualified to run and will face no opposition in the primary; however, he will face Democratic candidate C. Brian Davidson of Helena in the general election.

One county resident and one former county resident have qualified to run for District 3 of the state Board of Education. Chris House of Shelby qualified as well as John Draper of Prattville, formerly of Shelby County.

Incumbent U.S. Congressman Spencer Bachus will face opposition in the primary from Phillip Jaurengi of Birmingham.

Shelby County’s local races under contention during this election cycle include the nine county commission district seats; place 1 and 2 on the Shelby County Board of Education; and Shelby County constable.

All of the incumbent Shelby County commissioners have qualified for another term on the county’s lawmaking body. Only three of the incumbents, however, face opposition.

Incumbent District 3 Commissioner Jimmy Bice of Montevallo faces GOP primary opposition from Kenneth Goolsby and Jon Parker, both of Montevallo.

Incumbent District 4 Commissioner Dan Acker of Alabaster faces primary opposition from Mike Morton, also of Alabaster.

Incumbent District 8 Commissioner Ted Crockett of north Shelby County faces Republican opposition from Iris Whitfield Wood of Vandiver and Terry Reagin of Leeds.

Incumbent District 1 Commissioner Billy Thompson of Columbiana faces no primary opposition; however, Orrin Ford of the Lay Lake area and Jimmy Carter of Vincent have both qualified as Democrats. Ford will face Carter during the June primary.

District 2 incumbent Commissioner Earl Cunningham of Montevallo, District 5 incumbent Commissioner Joel Bearden of Helena, District 6 incumbent Commissioner Larry Dillard of north Shelby County, District 7 incumbent Commissioner Lindsey Allison of Indian Springs and District 9 incumbent Commissioner Don Armstrong of Wilsonville, qualified with no opposition. All are Republicans.

Incumbent Shelby County Board of Education members Trey Ireland of north Shelby County, Place 1, and Allen Rice of Helena, Place 2, face opposition during the Republican primary. David Nichols of Pelham has qualified for the Place 1 seat; and Anne Glass of north Shelby County has qualified for the Place 2 seat.

Qualifying for constable were Maria Reagin of Leeds in Precinct 11; Charles Knight of north Shelby County in Precinct 15; Phillip Walker of Pelham in Precinct 20; Don Odom of Helena in Precinct 21; George Oldroyd of Alabaster in Precinct 24; Michael Denard of Maylene in Precinct 26; Bill Logan of Montevallo in Precinct 28; James Wagner of Montevallo in Precinct 30; Jay Seavy of Wilsonville in Precinct 39; Russell Roger Carden of Shelby in Precinct 41; and Walter L. Perkins and Betty H. Rinehart, both of Shelby, in Precinct 40.

A number of Shelby County Republicans have also qualified as delegates to the National Republican Convention.

Qualifying were:

* Alabama State Auditor Beth Chapman of north Shelby County with no opposition, place 3;

* Former state Sen. Bill Armistead of Columbiana facing two other qualifiers, place 6;

* Vic Kelley of north Shelby County facing six others, place 8;

* Susan Kelley of north Shelby County six others, place 9;

* Paul Glass of north Shelby County and state Rep. Cam Ward of Alabaster facing two others, place 10;

* State Rep. Mike Hill of Columbiana and Elaine Little of Pelham facing three others, place 11;

* State Rep. Mary Sue McClurkin of Pelham facing four others, place 13;

* State Sen. Hank Erwin of Montevallo and Anne Glass of Shelby facing three others, place 14;

* Christian Sanford of north Shelby County facing four others, place 17;

* Scott Tucker of north Shelby County facing three others, place 18;

* Marsha Rogers of Hoover and Leland Whaley of north Shelby County facing four others, place 22