Qualifying ends for municipal elections

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, July 20, 2004

From Staff Reports

Qualifying ended yesterday at 5 p.m. for those seeking municipal offices in Shelby County, and campaigning will begin in earnest now for several across the county.

Municipal elections are set for Aug. 24.

At presstime Tuesday, three had qualified for mayor in Alabaster. Incumbent Mayor David Frings is seeking re-election. Current councilman Henry Hines and former Alabaster police chief Larry Rollan are seeking the position as well.

Qualifying for the Ward 1 seat are incumbent councilman Bobby Harris and Jerry Workman.

Three have qualified for the Ward 2 position: Bob Hicks, Mark Harwood and B.N. Peterson.

Two have qualified for the Ward 3 spot: Carol Reddoch and incumbent Adam Moseley.

Three have qualified for the Ward 4 council seat: incumbent Rick Walters, Amy Milliron and Michael Morton; two for the Ward 5 seat: incumbent Jim McClain and Russelle Hubbard; three for the Ward 6 seat: incumbent Mike Sherwood, former councilman John Sarris and Randy Robinson.

Only one had qualified for the Ward 7 council position: incumbent Tommy Ryals.

In Chelsea, incumbent Mayor Earl Niven and Jay Jerman have both qualified for the mayoral post. Qualifying for council seats in Chelsea, at presstime, were Earl Niven Jr. and Jimmy Lovvorn.

Two have also qualified for the Columbiana mayoral post: incumbent Mayor Allan Lowe and challenger Howell Horn.

Qualifying in Columbiana for seats on the city council are incumbent Tom Seale, Ralph McKenzie, Brian Stevens, incumbent Ouida Mayfield, Derrick Bryant, incumbent Tim Billingsley, Stoney Glenn, Alvin Byrd, Freda Abrams and incumbent Leslie Whiting.

Two have qualified to serve as mayor of Calera as well Incumbent George Roy will face current city councilmember LeMoyne Glasgow in August.

Qualifying for the council seats were incumbent Tommy Lynn Morrison and Jerry Davis in district 1; Ernest Montgomery in district 2; incumbent Bobby Joe Phillips and Patsy Grant Harris in district 3; incumbent Arthur Davis and David Bradshaw in district 4; and Mike Robertson and Alan Watts in district 5.

Three have qualified for mayor in Harpersville: incumbent Jerry W. Moore, James Quinton Richey and Paul Books.

Others qualifying include: Martha Persons, Randy Wood and Debra Logan for District 2, Place 1; William Rayfield and Al Chatham II for District 2, Place 2; and Janet Gill for District 2, Place 3.

At presstime, no one had qualified for either District 1, Place 1 or District 1, Place 2.

Two have qualified for mayor in Helena: incumbent Charles W. &uot;Sonny&uot; Penhale and Frank Park.

Qualifying for council, at presstime, were Jackson Knox for Place 2; incumbent Tom Lefebvre for Place 3; incumbent Jerry B. Pate for Place 4; and Bob Hopton-Jones for Place 5.

There are two vying for the position of Montevallo mayor as well.

Incumbent councilmember Sharon Anderson and Don Hughes will face off for that position in August.

Qualifying for council District 1 were Mary Crawford and Dana Byrd; for council District 2, incumbent Willie Goldsmith; for council District 3, incumbent Greg Pendleton; for council District 4, Hollie Cost, Billie R. Lacey and Don Alexander; and for council District 5, Becky Cox.

Three will face off in Pelham for the mayoral seat: incumbent Bobby Hayes, Ben Burger and Clifford Bradley Bearden.

Qualifying for council seats, at presstime, were incumbent Rosemary Metcalf, Place 1; incumbent Mike Dickens, place 2; incumbent Willard Payne, Place 3; Robert Sullivan and incumbent Jim Phillips, Place 4; and incumbent Karyl Rice, Place 5.

Editor’s Note: Candidates for municipal election are permitted one story and photo at no charge in the Shelby County Reporter. Call 669-3131 for information