Two municipalities forego elections

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, August 18, 2004

Two Shelby County municipalities will not have municipal elections on Aug. 24.

Only one individual qualified for each position in Westover and Indian Springs.

Both will face the next four years with new mayors – Steve Zerkis for Indian Springs and Mark McLaughlin for Westover.

Zerkis replaces Gene Weingarten, and McLaughlin replaces Roger West.

Two new faces will grace the council table at Indian Springs as well.

Brenda Bell Guercio replaces Patricia Crapet in Place 2, and Jack Mendel replaces Art Johnson in Place 4.

Other council posts remain the same with Herb Robins representing Place 1, Brian Strauss representing Place 3 and Stewart Dudley representing Place 5.

In Westover, incumbent councilmembers Ed Bahr in Place, Larry Riggins in Place 2 and Susan Wooten in Place retain their positions.

Newcomers are Annette Tyler in Place 3 and Jeanne Champion-Fitch in Place 5