Nation heads to polls – Local residents on ballot next Tuesday

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, October 26, 2004

Shelby County residents will head to the polls Tuesday to choose America’s leader for the next four years.

The traditionally strong Republican county will most likely choose to send current President George W. Bush back to the White House even though stumpers for Democratic challenger John Kerry have been in evidence this political season.

Bush, of course, is joined by Vice President Dick Cheney, on the ballot; and Kerry is joined by John Edwards.

Others on the ballot for president/vice president include independents Michael Badnarik/Richard V. Campagna; Ralph Nader/Jan D. Pierce; and Michael Peroutka/Chuck Baldwin.

One Shelby Countian is up for statewide election. Longtime Juvenile Court Judge Patti Smith is on the ballot as the Republican for associate justice of the Supreme Court, Place 2.

Smith is facing Democrat Roger M. Moore.

Incumbent Republican Sen. Richard Shelby will face off against Democratic challenger Wayne Sowell.

On the ballot for associate justice of the Supreme Court, place 1 are Democrat Robert H. Smith and Republican Tom Parker. On the ballot for place 3 are Democrat John Rochester and Republican Mike Bolin.

Voters will choose between Republican Tommy Bryan and Democrat Sharon G. Yates.

Local races on the ballot with challenges include Circuit Court Judge, Place 4 in which incumbent Judge Dan Reeves faces off against challenger Donna Beaulieu.

Incumbent Republican District Attorney Robby Owens faces a challenge from Democrat C. Brian Davidson.

Other local races are unchallenged.

Incumbent Republican Spencer Bachus is the only one on the ballot as the representative for the 6th Congressional District which includes Shelby County.

Incumbent Judges Hub Harrington and Michael Joiner are unchallenged for Circuit Court Judge, places 1 and 3.

Jim Kramer will not face a challenge for District Court Judge, place 1 seat in the juvenile court. He replaces Judge Smith.

Also unchallenged are Republicans David Nichols and Anne Glass as members of the Shelby County Board of Education.

Local Races

Voters in Shelby County District 1 have a choice to make on Tuesday. The District 1 seat for Shelby County Commission pits incumbent Republican Billy Thompson against Democrat Jimmy Carter.

Other Republican Shelby County commissioners face no challenges.

They include Earl Cunningham in District 2; Jon Parker in District 3; Dan Acker in District 4; Joel Bearden Jr. in District 5; Larry Dillard in District 6; Lindsey Allison in District 7; Ted Crockett in District 8; and Don Armstrong in District 9.

Shelby County constable races will also appear on the ballot Tuesday.


When Shelby County residents go to the polls next Tuesday, there will be two amendments which relate specifically to this county.

The first, if approved by voters, will allow for law enforcement of traffic laws on private roads in private gated communities within the county.

The second, will allow the probate judge to exercise jurisdiction in circuit court cases filed in probate court as long as the elected judge is licensed to practice law in Alabama.

Eight other statewide amendments appear on the ballot for Tuesday