Sapp goes wire to wire to win Hobby division

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, May 31, 2005

Shelby County Speedway participants were not interested in taking a vacation from their hobby for the Memorial Day weekend. Drivers in the running for the mid-season championship were keeping a close watch on their positions.

The Little Speeders kept the crowd entertained during intermission with a quick race on the front stretch of the track. Joseph Harris, Kyle Smith and Christian Taft were the top three finishers in the 5-8-year-old division. Joshua Leigh, Corey Peal and Bobby Luster were the top three finishers in the 9-12-year-old division.

The Hobby division started the feature events of the night with Bob Sapp (No. 18) on the pole. Sapp, currently fifth in points, showed off his great driving skills by keeping his first place position the entire race. Sonny Patterson (No. 1) started second and kept his position until lap seven when he tied Gary Ingram (No. 17) on the backstretch. The incident moved Chris Revis (No. 07) from fourth to second and Jason Harris (No. P4) followed behind in third. Sapp, Revis and Harris filled the top three positions for the finish.

Johnny Carroll (No. 4) started in the first position for the Pure Stock division but wouldn’t keep his position long. Derrick Price (No. 02) quickly stole the lead from Carroll in lap one. Larry Hatchett (No. 01) ran third until three laps to go when Wayne Spradlin (No. 17) passed him in turn two. Price went on to celebrate his second consecutive win of the season. Carroll finished second and Spradlin followed behind in third.

Frank Johnson (No. 70) dominated in the Pure Pony division by keeping a far distance ahead of the field. Chris George (No. 19) also impressed the crowd by moving from fourth to second on the first lap.

Lenny Fowler (No. 10) followed behind George in third.

The top three drivers set the pace of the field and managed to keep their positions for the finish.

Robby Pierce (No. 25) earned the pole position in the Limited Late Model division with a qualifying time of 16.16 seconds. After the green flag dropped, Pierce quickly moved far ahead of drivers Jason Barrett (No. 22) and Mike Wilkins (No. 00). Wilkins came close to passing Barrett for second but couldn’t catch him for the finish. Pierce went on to win the even with Barrett in second and Wilkins in third.

Rookie driver Cody Dean (No. 54) gained a few fans after his win in the Modified Pony division. Mike Hodges (No. 77) started first but didn’t stay there long. Joe Bearden (No. 88) quickly passed Hodges for the lead in lap one. Dean, coming from the back of the pack, managed to take the lead on lap six and kept first for the finish. Bearden finished second behind Dean, and Hodges finished third.

Donald Ingram (No. 16) started on the pole in the Thunder and Lightning division. Tim Jacobs (No. 4) started behind Ingram in second. The two drivers kept their first and second positions the entire race. Ingram celebrated his hard-earned win by taking a victory lap with the checkered flag.

The Hogg division ended the feature events for the night. Vinnie Wydman (No. 15) started first. Terry Bradshaw (No. 58W) followed behind Wydman in second and Howard Hannah (No. 22) in third. Wydman, Bradshaw and Hannah kept their positions and rounded out the top three.

Racing at Shelby County Speedway continues next Saturday, June 4. For track information check out or call 669-6509