Ingram holds off Dawson for win

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, June 22, 2005

Shelby County Speedway gave fans a double show with great racing and great music Saturday night. Kelsey Pierce stole the crowd during intermission with her powerhouse country music voice, and fans cheered as Donald Ingram held off points-leader Sandy Dawson for the Thunder and Lightning feature win.

Chris Revis (No. 07) started on the pole position in the Hobby division with Sandy Dawson (No. 88) beside him. It only took Dawson four laps to pass Revis for the lead. Dawson kept the lead for the remaining laps of the race and Revis stayed behind him in second. Gary Ingram (No. 17) came close to having a third place finish, but lost his position with three laps to go. Dawson, Revis and Rusty Carlee (No. 84) rounded out the top three.

The Pure Stock division was the second class featured of the night with Wayne Spradlin (No. 17) on the pole.

It wasn’t long before Mark Price (No. 02) made his way around Spradlin for the lead.

Father and son, Jimmy Hatchett (No. 11) and Larry Hatchett (No. 01), made their way into the top three and kept their positions for the finish.

Price celebrated his second consecutive win of the season.

Lenny Fowler (No. 10) led the Pure Pony division to the starting line for the third feature of the night. After the green flag dropped, Frank Johnson (No. 70) quickly moved into first place. Kurtis Busby (No. 15) and Dave Harbison (No. 2) fell into second and third in the first few laps. Johnson, Busby, and Harbison kept their positions for the finish and the class managed to complete the race caution free.

Robby Pierce (No. 25) took the pole in the Limited Late Model division with a qualifying time of 15.31 seconds. Pierce moved far ahead of the pack after the race began, and kept his distance the rest of the way. John Pierce (No. 88) stayed in second behind Robby Pierce and James Lowe (No. 10) in third. Robby Pierce, John Pierce and Lowe rounded out the top three positions.

The Modified Pony division followed next with Cody Dean (No. 54) starting first. Benny Pickett (No. 4) moved from third to first in only three laps. Dean stayed behind Pickett in second and Bobby Collins (No. 7) in third. The three drivers stayed in the top three for the finish.

Donald Ingram (No. 16) started on the pole in the Thunder and Lightning division. It didn’t take long for Sandy Dawson (No. 88) to take the lead from Ingram. After Dawson and Wayne Lucas (No. 10) tied up going into turn three halfway through the race, Ingram was able to get the lead back. Ingram held Dawson off after the restart and was able to finish first under the checkered flag for the win.

The Hogg division was the last class featured of the night. Harold Hannah (No. 23) started in first place and managed to keep his position throughout the race. Terry Fowler

(No. 02) finished behind Hannah and Keith Martin (No. 71) finished third.

Racing continues Saturday, June 25, with the Little Speeders making their first appearance of the month. Check out, or call 966-3906 to get the latest track information including the special Fourth of July race weekend