Andrews wins first race at Shelby county Speedway

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, August 17, 2005

Shelby County Speedway proved to be more than just a racing facility Saturday night as the track recognized its younger race fans, hosting its first &uot;Back to School&uot; night.

Staff members handed out a variety of school supplies encouraging kids to do their best in school.

The Hobby division began the racing action for the night with Jeremy Andrews (No. 64) on the pole. The yellow flag was dropped twice before completing a lap and drivers were forced to restart twice. Gordon Wordon (No. 15) kept a strong hold behind Andrews until he spun coming out of turn two with four laps to go and was sent to the rear. The incident moved Stanley Littleton (No. 3) to second. Andrews went on to win his first race at Shelby County Speedway with Littleton in second, Robert Lucas (No. 44) in third, Wordon in fourth, and Jarrod McGaha (No. 72) in fifth.

The Pure Stock division entered the track next with Johnny Carroll (No. 4) starting first.

David Davis (No. 00) started behind Carroll in second. The two drivers maintained their positions the entire race. Larry Hatchett (No. 01) showed off his aggressive driving skills as he gained positions throughout the race for a third-place finish. Wayne Spradlin (No. 17) finished behind Hatchett in fourth with Randy Fowler (No. 10) in fifth.

Dave Harbison (No. 1) started first in the Pure Pony division and left the track with mechanical problems after the first lap. Jeremy Wells (No. 81) took the lead but soon moved to second after Steven Foster (No. 2) stole first. Foster crossed the finish line first with Wells in second, Jason Bazzell (No. 9) in third, and Rebecca Ray (No. 7) in fourth.

Johnny Dawson (No. 42) started on the pole in the Thunder and Lightning division with Darrell Tumlin (No. 8T) beside him. The two drivers were racing hard for the lead and tied up on lap four coming down the front stretch of the track. Dawson suffered a flat tire and couldn’t make it back for the restart. That left Tumlin with the lead and Donald Ingram (No. 16) in second. The two drivers kept their positions for the finish with Jimmy Pyle (No. 19) in third.

Cody Dean (No. 54) led the Modified Pony division to the starting line next with Eddie Pickett (No. 44) outside of him. Dale McGill (No. 91) started third. The three drivers maintained their starting positions throughout the race.

Dean, a first year driver, celebrated his fourth win of the 2005 season.

Ted Denson (No. 6) took the win in the Hogg division for the second week in a row. Gary Woods (No. 77) started fifth and had moved his way to second three laps into the race, but lost his position to William Adams (No. 12) on lap seven. Andy Woods (No. 01) started sixth and was able to gain two positions for fourth by the end of the race.

Racing continues at Shelby County Speedway this Saturday, Aug. 20.

The track will be giving a $500 purse, with a ten car count minimum, in the Thunder and Lightning division. Check or call 669-6509 for more information