Eight county players named to ASWA team

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, December 20, 2005

The Alabama Sports Writers Association released its All-State football team last week, and eight Shelby County players found their names gracing the list.

Oak Mountain’s Ryan Shoemaker and Mitch Ray both made the 6A team. Shoemaker was kicker and punter for the Eagles while Ray was a key player for Oak Mountain at the linebacker spot.

Shelby County Reporter player of the year Andy Davis was the sole county player named to the 5A team out of Briarwood. Davis led the Lions in tackles this year and has already signed to play at the University of Alabama next season.

Chelsea’s Walker Kent was named to the 4A list as a defensive back. Kent led the Hornets in interceptions this season.

Two Calera Eagles found their names on the Class 2A team. Brock Russell was selected at the defensive back spot while Nick Cannady was named to the defensive line.

Kingwood’s Cody Owens and Shelby Academy’s Preston Newsom were named to the AISA team. Owens was the leading receiver for the Lions this year and Newsom the leading tackler for the Raiders as a linebacker.

Honorable mentions:

6A – Mark Melichar, OL (Oak Mountain); Trent McKnight, DB (Oak Mountain); Will Pierce, DL (Oak Mountain)

5A – J.D. Lott, DL (Briarwood)

AISA – Andrew Pearce, QB (Kingwood); Lakin Spinks, TE (Kingwood