County approves purchase of HAVA voting machines

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, January 11, 2006

The Shelby County Commission took steps to meet the requirements of the Help America Vote Act Monday.

County commissioners voted to purchase AutoMARK/87000 machines.

HAVA was enacted by Congress during 2002. It established guidelines to help disabled registered voters cast their votes with privacy and independence. HAVA includes a provision for reimbursement for the equipment.

In other business, the commission discussed appointments to the Shelby County Economic and Industrial Development Authority. A vote on the appointments will be taken at the commission&8217;s next meeting.

The commission discussed four re-appointments and one appointment to the board.

Re-appointments to the board included Ken Blackmon of Birmingham, Robert Doyle of Montevallo (currently serving as chairman), Jean Lowe of Columbiana and Jennifer Trammell of Birmingham. Their current terms expired Dec. 31, 2005, and their new terms will expire Dec. 31, 2009.

The suggested appointment to the board to fill the vacancy of Ed Blake is Marvin Copes PhD of Maylene. His term would expire Dec. 31, 2008.

The board has two other vacancies as well, spots formerly filled by Eddie Elliott and Dale Hower, will terms expiring Dec. 31, 2008.

The commission also awarded the bids for uniform shirts and an ADP 2000 chemical detector.

Classic Traditions received the bid for uniform shirts with prices of $13.35 each for Port Authority K420 shirts and $14.25 each for Port Authority 320 shirts. Other bidders were Graphic Designs & Promotions, F&E Sportswear, Lowego and American Promo.

Care Safety and Smiths Detection received the bid for ADP 2000 chemical detectors at a price of $9,600. The purchase will be made with grant funds from the 2005 Homeland Securities grants.

In other business,

The commission approved the right-of-way acquisitions related to bridge replacements and approaches on County Highway 39 over Tom&8217;s Creek near Chelsea. Purchases will be made from Gail J. Owen, J. Anthony Joseph and Nina J. McCord