Locals publish recipes of hope

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, October 3, 2006

Hope tastes like apple-creme cheese torts, chicken and dumplings and peach creme pie to the Hannah Homes Ladies Auxiliary.

The women have just release Recipe for Hope, a new cookbook created to raise support for Hannah Home Shelby, an abused women and children&8217;s shelter set to open this fall.

The cookbook has close to 400 recipes, contributed by members of the Auxiliary, celebrities, chefs and clergy.

The book features a variety of recipes to fulfill all culinary interests and skill levels, and includes favorites from celebrities like Paula Deen, First Lady Laura Bush, Alabama&8217;s First Lady Patsy Riley, Beth Moore, Senator Richard Shelby, Pam Huff and many others.

&8220;We are very proud of our cookbook,&8221; said Suevaughn Hicks, chair of the project.

&8220;Our group has assembled an incredible selection of outstanding recipes. The recipes provide a range for all culinary interests and skills…from beginner bride simple to the seasoned sublime, from the daily down home to the urbane uptown. There&8217;s truly something for everyone,&8221; she said.

The cookbook&8217;s forward is written by the South&8217;s favorite celebrity chef, Paula Deen. A friend to Hannah Home Shelby, Deen also took part of a sell-out fundraiser for the home last year.

In addition to recipes, the cookbook also includes stories and testimonies from residents of Hannah Homes. Hannah Home Shelby will shelter 60 women and children for up to one year once it&8217;s open. All the profits from the $20 dollar cookbooks and other Ladies Auxiliary projects fund the home&8217;s construction as well at operations. Hicks said, &8220;Once you read these stories, you&8217;ll want to buy 20 just to support the home,&8221; she said.

Recipe for Hope is dedicated to Denis and Peggy Devane, long-time supporters of The King&8217;s Ranch and Hannah Homes and members of the Hannah Home Shelby Capital Campaign Committee.

Cookbook Committee members include Mary Byrd, co-chair, Diane Adams, Jennifer Alden, Brenda Belcher, Kathy Benton, Judy Flannery, JoAnn Long, Lucy Mason, Cele Montgomery, Judi Nebergall, Amy Reese and Lois Tipton.