UM athletes named to GSC honor roll

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, January 23, 2008


Thirty-six student-athletes of the University of Montevallo fall sports teams have been named to their respective Gulf South Conference All-Academic teams released Jan. 22.

Men’s soccer players Glenn Murphy and Jim Witherow, women’s soccer goalkeeper Corey Gros and volleyball players Monika Tortorici and Lauren Tortorici were named to the teams as unanimous selections.

The team is voted on by sports information directors and faculty athletic representatives at GSC schools.

The following is a list of those selected to their respective All-Academic teams.

Men’s Soccer: Alex Ghoja, Joe Gross, Parker Ingle, Jonathan Maloney, Glenn Murphy, Daniel Pelletier, Milan Pualic, Chris Stanfield and Jim Witherow.

Women’s Soccer: Morgan Brooks, Brittany Correia, Erin Duncan, Corey Gros, Julie Gurak, Amber Hooper, Adele Jackson, Lucrece Laverdure, Jo-Anne McCarthy, Paula Radmard, Alex Terhar and Allison Walls.

Volleyball: Carson Anderson, Rebecca Dowd, Maureen Esler,

Katy Handrick, Ashley Haynes, Cami Johnson, Lauren Markle, Joy Peschman, Ashley Stolze, Lauren Tortorici and Monika Tortorici.

Cross country: Brooke Deason, Lindsey Golay, Katie Munkus and January Waters