UM announces writing awards

Published 12:00 am Thursday, April 3, 2008


The winners of the University of Montevallo President’s Awards for Excellence in Writing have been announced.

Jeremy Thomas Dunn of Talladega and Courtney C. Bennett of Jacksonville won the Freshman Composition division, with Dallas Hanbury of Daleville receiving honorable mention.

Lindsey A. Sherrill of Montevallo was the winner of the Sophomore English award, with Brandy Grondin of Childersburg receiving honorable mention.

In Upper Level English, the winner was Michelle D. Griffey of Alabaster, with Matthew Roth receiving honorable mention.

In the category disciplines other than English, the winners were Amanda C. Waligora of Pinson and Joie L. Molden of Prattville.