Eight named to SEC spring honor roll

Published 5:14 pm Thursday, July 3, 2008


Eight Shelby County student-athletes have been named to the Southeastern Conference spring academic honor roll.

A total of 940 student-athletes were named to the 2008 honor roll, announced June 24 by SEC Commissioner Mike Slive.

The University of Alabama had the most Shelby County natives with five, while Auburn, Kentucky and Ole Miss had one each.

Each student-athlete selected must have a GPA of 3.00 or better for the preceding academic year or a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution. Each must be on scholarship or have participated on a varsity team for two years if not on scholarship. They must also have completed 24 semester hours of non-remedial credit at the nominating institution and have been a member of the varsity team for the sport’s entire season.

University of Alabama

David Clyburn, Pelham, Track, Junior, PhilosophyLaura Goodwin, Briarwood, Golf, Junior, Exercise & Sport ScienceLeigh Ann Lazarus, Spain Park, Rowing, Senior, Health Care ManagementCourtney Lewallen, Spain Park, Rowing, Junior, MarketingWill Stroup, Oak Mountain, Baseball, Senior, Management Information Systems

Auburn UniversityMark Fleming, Oak Mountain, Track, Sophomore, Wireless Engineering Hardware

University of KentuckyLindsay Brogdon, Oak Mountain, Softball, Senior, Marketing

University of MississippiSara Grantham, Wilsonville, Golf, Sophomore, Political Scienc