Council seats up decided in Harpersville

Published 11:17 pm Tuesday, August 26, 2008

Council Member Beverly Johnson made good her bid for re-election in District 1, Place 1 in Harpersville edging out Eddie Buie 53 votes to 20 votes, according to unofficial results.

Johnson gathered 72.6 percent of the vote cast in her race while Wood received 54 percent of the vote in that race.

However, Council Member Deborah Logan came up short in her bid for re-election in District 2, Place 1, falling to Roy Wood 35 votes to 29.

A total of 127 were cast unofficially in that town’s elections.

Mayor Theoangleo Perkins was unopposed in his bid for re-election as were Council Member Shirley Middleton for District 1, Place 2; Council Member William Rayfield for District 2, Place 2; and Council Member Janet Gill for District 2, Place 3.