State swim meet this weekend

Published 5:48 pm Thursday, December 4, 2008

Swimmers and divers from across the state will compete for a state championship this weekend at the University of Alabama Aquatics Center.

Local athletes from Briarwood, Indian Springs, Oak Mountain, Pelham, Shelby County, Spain Park and Thompson have qualified to compete.

The state meet begins Friday with the girls’ diving competition at 2 p.m. and the boys’ competition at 6 p.m. The meet continues with the swimming events on Saturday with preliminary races beginning at 9 am. The finals are set for 6 p.m.

Local athletes competing by school are:



Mallory Mathias – 200-yard freestyle, 500-yard freestyle

Madison Scordino – 200-yard freestyle, 500-yard freestyle

Indian Springs

Elizabeth Miller – 200-meter IM, 100-yard breaststroke,

Oak Mountain

Catie Cobb – 200-meter medley relay, 200-yard IM, 100-yard butterfly, 400-yard freestyle relay

Kaitlyn Cromeens – 1-meter diving

Natalie Lenderman – 200-meter medley relay, 100-yard freestyle, 100-yard backstroke, 400-yard freestyle relay

Emily Reid – 200-meter medley relay, 100-yard breaststroke

Maggie Wright – 100-yard backstroke, 100-yard breaststroke, 400-yard freestyle relay

Kreable Young – 200-meter medley relay, 200-yard freestyle, 500-yard freestyle, 400-yard freestyle relay


Mary Allison – 500-yard freestyle

Spain Park

Madeline Held – 100-yard freestyle, 100-yard backstroke

Elizabeth Lapham – 200-yard IM, 100-yard backstroke

Emily Lin – 100-yard freestyle, 100-yard backstroke

Katie Beth Miedaner – 100-yard breaststroke

Danielle Robertson – 50-yard freestyle, 100-yard breaststroke


Kelsey Williams – 200-yard freestyle, 500-meter freestyle



Caleb Ward – 50-yard freestyle, 100-yard freestyle

Oak Mountain

Corey Lewis – 200-yard freestyle, 100-yard backstroke


Matthew Davis – 100-yard freestyle

Shelby County

Geoffrey Fuglaar – 200-yard IM, 100-yard breaststroke

Spain Park

Will Freeman – 200-yard freestyle, 500-yard freestyle

Corey Holmes – 200-yard IM, 100-yard backstroke

William McKinney – 200-yard freestyle

Sean Morris – 200-yard freestyle, 500-yard freestyle

Keith Sidwell – 1-meter diving