Oak Mtn. wrestling second in Southern Slam

Published 1:22 am Tuesday, December 9, 2008

Three Oak Mountain wrestlers captured first place for their weight class to help lead Oak Mountain to a second-place finish at the Southern Slam in South Carolina over the weekend.

Davis Bagwell, John Blakely and Josh Greer each won their weight class, while Tanner Moon and Jared Woodall were second.

A total of 28 teams from Alabama, Georgia and South Carolina competed in the tournament.

The Eagles opened the week with four wins, two at home against St. Clair County and Pinson and the other two in Alabaster at the Over the Mountain Duals, hosted by Thompson High School on Dec. 3.

Oak Mountain (9-1) defeated Mountain Brook, 59-14, with wins in every weight class but 103, 140 and 160. The Eagles forfeited the 103-pound class to Mountain Brook’s Sam Bridell, while Raymond Dolcelli lost to Andrew Scofield in a tech fall, 25-8, at 140 pounds and Justin Woodall lost at 160-pounds by a 5-9 decision to Sam Gray.

The Eagles also defeated Thompson, 57-15. The Warriors’ only wins against Oak Mountain was a forfeit at 103 pounds, a pin by Cody Albarado at 119 pounds and a 2-0 decision in 130 pounds with Steven Thompson beating Jimmy Whitt.

Spain Park and Pelham also competed in the OTM Duals.

Spain Park lost to Mountain Brook, 62-17, and Vestavia, 84-6. Geoffery Bostany collected a pin in both matches at 103 pounds, scoring the only Jaguar points against Vestavia.

Pelham lost a close match to Hoover, 36-33 after the Bucs won six weight classes in the middle of the match.

Correction: A previous version of this story incorrectly identified Geoffery Bostany as the 2007 runner-up in Class 6A 103 pounds.


Team Scores

1. Parkview HS, Ga. 222.0

2. Oak Mountain, Al. 210.5

3. Eastside HS, SC. 204.0

4. Hillcrest HS, SC. 198.5

5. Wesleyan HS, SC. 160.0

6. BHP HS, SC 142.0

7. West Oak, SC 138.5

8. Woodward Academy, SC 123.5

9. South Pointe HS, SC 120.0

10. Greer HS, SC 115.0

Individual Results

103 – Sean Hira, South Point d. Brandon Johnson, Hillcrest

112 – Robbie Kane, Parkview d. Tanner Moon, Oak Mountain

119 – Drew Rankin, Walhalla d. Patrick Mestrez, Berkley

125 – Eric Rholetter, West Oak d. Clint Jones, Parkview

130 – Will Baker, Eastside d. Chris Jones, Travelers Rest

135 – Eddie Coles, Eastside d. Nick DeVita, Hillcrest

140 – DJ Jules, Greeville d. Tyler Hediger, Wesleyan

145 – Joseph Winkler, West Oak d. Jared Woodall, Oak Mountain

152 – Davis Bagwell, Oak Mountain d. John Honeycutt, West Oak

160 – Colin Genthert, Wesleyan d. Zane Newton, Emerald

171 – John Blakely, Oak Mountain d. Michael Douglas, Wesleyan

189 – Josh Greer, Oak Mountain d. Nolan Courvell, Wade Hampton

215 – Matt Johnson, Parkview d. Andrew Uria, Wesleyan

285 – Rodney Hicks, Eastside d. Josh Gilgore, Hillcrest


Oak Mountain 58, Mountain Brook 17

103 – Sam Bridell (MB), forfeit

112 – Tanner Moon (OM) d. William Letzer (MB), pin

119 – Ronnie Ashley (OM) d. Tyler Cox (MB), pin

125 – Jake Sellers (OM) d. Taylor Buffington (MB), pin

130 – Jimmy Witt (OM) d. James Perry (MB), 8-4

135 – Peter Hall (MB) d. Evan Webb (OM), 11-5

140 – Andrew Scofield (MB) d. Raymond Dolcelli (OM), 25-8

145 – Jared Woodall (OM) d. James Adams (MB), pin

152 – Davis Bagwell (OM) d. Williams Byrd (MB), 26-9

160 – Sam Gray (MB) d. Justin Woodall (OM), 9-5

171 – John Blakely (OM) d. Charlie Williamson (MB), pin

189 – Josh Greer (OM) d. Adam Benjaminson (MB), pin

215 – Patrick Markus (OM) d. Tops Chew (MB), pin

285 – Clayton Schencker (OM) d. Copeland Webster (MB), pin

Oak Mountain 57, Thompson 15

103 – Ferris (THOM), forfeit

112 – Tanner Moon (OM) d. Hall (THOM), 4-3

119 – Cody Albarado (THOM) d. Ronnie Ashley (OM), pin

125 – Jake Sellers (OM) d. Fuller (THOM), pin

130 – Thompson (THOM) d. Jimmy Witt (OM), 2-0

135 – Evan Webb (OM) d. Wesley (THOM), pin

140 – Raymond Dolcelli (OM) d. Thome (THOM), pin

145 – Jared Woodall (OM) d. Gillespie (THOM), 8-0

152 – Davis Bagwell (OM) d. Gentile (THOM), 19-3

160 – Justin Woodall (OM) d. Murray (THOM), pin

171 – John Blakely (OM) d. Capers (THOM), pin

189 – Josh Greer (OM) d. Miller (THOM), pin

215 – Patrick Markus (OM) d. Parten (THOM), 10-3

285 – Clayton Schencker (OM), forfeit