2008 Football All-County announced

Published 12:09 am Tuesday, December 16, 2008

Shelby County High School is well represented on this year’s All-County football team, beginning with Player of the Year Darion Sutton and Coach of the Year Ryan Herring.

The following are this year’s selections:


QUARTERBACK – Braten Dill, Shelby County – Accounted for more than 1,500 yards total offense while leading the Wildcats to an 11-1 record.

ATHLETE – Kevin Callender, Montevallo – Put up impressive numbers as the main offensive player with 1,446 yards passing, 1,202 yards rushing and 26 Touchdowns.

RUNNING BACK – Juwan Rogers, Vincent – Was the second-leading rusher in the county with 1,429 yards rushing, 263 yards receiving and 16 touchdowns.

RUNNING BACK – Darion Sutton, Shelby County – Rushed for 1,675 yards and 24 touchdowns, while collecting 11-straight 100-plus yard games.

WIDE RECEIVER – Dejuan Fulgham, Montevallo – Despite having his season shortened by a knee injury, Fulgham was a top receiver in the county with 533 yards total and an average of 22.2 per catch. He had seven touchdowns.

WIDE RECEIVER – Shawn Lynch, Pelham – Led the county in receiving with more than 800 yards.

TIGHT END – Davis Dudchock, Oak Mountain – Despite missing a number of games early in the year, Dudchock bounced back with 439 yards receiving and four touchdowns.

O-LINE – Codey Foster, Shelby County – A starting lineman for the Wildcats, Foster helped block for a school record 449-yards rushing in a single game.

O-LINE – Jessie Grisham, Spain Park – An Alabama All-Star, he led the Jaguars’ offensive line.

O-LINE – D’Antwone King, Calera – Opened up holes for 2,495 team rushing yards.

O-LINE – Patrick Morse, Shelby County – Set the school record for bench press with 420 pounds and was a leading force to open up the Wildcats’ run game.

O-LINE – Michael Payne, Shelby County – Opened up holes for 3,150 team rushing yards

KICKER – Charbel Gosshein, Spain Park – Converted 6-of-7 field goal attempts, including a 32-yard long. He was successful on 14 extra points.


D-LINE – Walker May, Briarwood – A 5A Lineman of the Year finalist, May led the county with 13 sacks and added 93 tackles. He forced four fumbles, recored three and ran one in for a touchdown. He also blocked a punt.

D-LINE – Darius McMullin, Spain Park – After missing the first half of the season, this Vanderbilt commitment posted 50 tackles, three sacks and an interception.

D-LINE – Dexter Paschel, Pelham – This Panther was always in the backfield, collecting four sacks, seven quarterback hurries and 52 tackles.

D-LINE – Damian Trice, Shelby County – A senior leader, Trice helped lead the Wildacats’ defensive front with four sacks, six quarterback hurries and a forced fumble.

LINEBACKER – Jake Holland, Pelham – A leading tackler in the county, Holland brought down a player 129 times, including two sacks, and recovered four fumbles.

LINEBACKER – Justin Shade, Briarwood – Shade led Briarwood with 117 tackles through the regular season, collected nine sacks and recovered three fumbles.

DEFENSIVE BACK – Jordan Chism, Thompson – One of the top athletes in the county, Chism was the center piece of the Thompson secondary.

DEFENSIVE BACK – Brett Frizzell, Vincent – Second in the county in interceptions with seven and returning each one for an average of 16 yards per pick.

DEFENSIVE BACK – Dustin Wood, Shelby County – Collected six interceptions during the regular season and was a leading punt and kick returner.

SAFETY – Alvin Hines, Pelham – A top prospect to start the season, Hines finished with 113 tackles in the regular season.

SAFETY/PUNTER – Kevin McNorton, Shelby County – The tall, lanky junior led the county with eight interceptions and booted the ball when needed with a quick one-step drop.


BRIARWOOD: Ben Bracewell, Caleb Castille, Zeke Walters.

CALERA: Erik Burrells, Nick Harris, Zach Isbell, Brandon Wells.

CHELSEA: Zac Hilliard, Alex Miller, Garrett Salter, Blake Yance.

COOSA VALLEY: Brandon Batchelor, Ricky Ellis, Whit Lovelady, J.B. Ripley.

CORNERSTONE: Trey Benson, Josh Dunnaway, Patrick Shaw, Cory Woodall.

EVANGEL: Hunter Burridge, Henry Foster, Collin Hipps.

HOPE: Chris Hughes, Robert Jacks, Jake Medders.

KINGWOOD: Justin Dickinson, Eric Marshall, Andrew Steele.

MONTEVALLO: Jay Franks, Toney Kent, Brandon Lilly.

OAK MOUNTAIN: Jeff Haney, Drew McKnight, Ross Ware.

PELHAM: Andrew Hayes, Tripp Martin, Ryan Williams.

SHELBY ACADEMY: Brandon Horton, Jeremy Ikner, Chad King, Jason McDaniel, Bobby Sexton.

SHELBY COUNTY: Blake Horton, Tae Lewis, Jon Walden.

SPAIN PARK: Graham Craig, Taylor Hopkins, Alex Payne.

THOMPSON: Siddeeq Cooper, Marcus Edwards, William Joseph.

VINCENT: Corey Deolach, Keyon Wallace.