Milestone comes for All-Metro selection

Published 7:47 am Wednesday, April 1, 2009

Oak Mountain star forward Chandler Hoffman was named to the All-Metro Tournament Tuesday, after leading his team to the Metro final. Hoffman helped the Eagles beat Briarwood Saturday at Pelham with an assist on the game-winning goal by Mason Lavallett and scoring his 100th and 101st career goals.

“It’s been a lot of hard work, and it feels good to finally reach 100. It was a good win and a good game to get the 100th goal in,” Hoffman said.

The win came against his former school, as Hoffman left Briarwood in middle school to go to Oak Mountain. Because of the connection of once being classmates and playing with or against each other in club ball, it was like scoring against friends for Hoffman.

“After the Spain Park game I realized I was at 99 and I was like ah, I get the chance to do it against the school I used to go to. It was nice to see the other team congratulate me,” he said.

Hoffman scored the 100th goal on a free kick in the 37th minute, 1:31 into the second half, to take a 3-1 lead. Goal No. 101 followed in the 54th minute of the game.

Also named to the All-Metro team with Hoffman were goalkeeper Trey Anderson and midfielder Stefan Vaziri from Oak Mountain.

The makeup day for the Metro Championship is scheduled for April 17 between John Carroll and Oak Mountain at Oak Mountain.

2009 Boys’ Soccer All-Metro Tournament Team

A Division

Altamont: Jonathan Alexander

Briarwood: Charlie Whorton, Cooper Harrington

Homewood: Brooks Busby

Hoover: Henley Carr, Norris Howze

Indian Springs: Evan Pantazis

John Carroll : Cory Gonzalez, Alex Kuklinski, Nick Piola

Mtn. Brook: Alex Thompson, Wilson Fisher

Oak Mtn.: Chandler Hoffman, Stefan Vaziri, Trey Anderson

Pelham: Gifford Usher

Spain Park: Jack O’Neil

Thompson: Trey Jacobson

Vestavia: Jared Brookins

B Division

Hewitt-Trussville: Brett Miller

Clay-Chalkville: Elijah Gibson

Chelsea: Daniel Decker, Ashley Page, Alex Levinson

Gardendale: Shawn Smith

Erwin: Marqueze O’Neal

Pinson: Stephen Yarbrough, Cody Peace

Ramsey: Ryan Chatman