SP players selected for North-South game

Published 4:17 pm Wednesday, April 8, 2009

Spain Park seniors Seth Shotts and Matthew Tinney have been selected to the North team of the 13th annual Alabama All-Star Sports Week in Huntsville July 13-17. The players and coaches were announced by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association.

This event will include in-state all-star games in volleyball, girls and boys basketball, baseball, softball and soccer along with clinics and sessions for coaches, officials and athletic directors, a product exposition and other related activities. The football game will be played on the campus of Alabama A&M University with a 7 p.m. Friday night, July 17.


Heading the South football coaching staff is Fred Riley of Davidson. His assistants include Tim Carter, Auburn; Tom Causey, Demopolis; Mike Dean, McGill-Toolen; Jeff Mitchell, Slocomb; Alphonso Pogue, Carver-Montgomery; Teddy Taylor, Millry. Mike Glisson, Auburn, is the administrative coach.

Players include:

QUARTERBACKS: Rick Boone, Demopolis; Ryne Taylor, Straughn.

RUNNING BACKS: Martin Broughton, Davidson; Latrell Jenkins, Auburn; Justin McCreary, Theodore; Jermaine Williams, Slocomb.

RECEIVERS: Jamel Johnson, Carver-Montgomery; Quaylyn Moncrief, Prattville; Preston Penn, Enterprise (TE); Ed Pruitt, Theodore (TE); Brock Reaves, UMS-Wright.

OFFENSIVE LINEMEN: Taylor Burnett, Spanish Fort; Edmund Davis, Carver-Montgomery; Tim Dykes, Beauregard; Steven Grandison, Vigor; Quinton Hopkins, Davidson; Chris Stice, Tallassee; Zeb Swindall, Charles Henderson.

DEFENSIVE LINEMEN: Mike Cox, Mary Montgomery; Trevior Graves, Foley; Parker Hollinghead, UMS-Wright; Josh James, Carroll-Ozark; Jamian Spear, Satsuma; Jared Washington, Lanett; Joshua Williams, Blount.

LINEBACKERS: LeAngelo Albright, Prattville; Chris Bonner, Davidson; Quintin Jackson, Blount; Josh Rowe, Opelika; Maurice Tate, Linden.

DEFENSIVE BACKS: Alex Buford, Thomasville; Tre McKinney, Dadeville; Charles Payne, Sidney Lanier; Keith Ray, Vigor; Brandon Tisdale, Enterprise.

ATHLETE: William Knight, Daleville.

KICKER/PUNTER: Brian Egan, Prattville.


Head coach for the North football team is Kevin Weiseman of Huntsville. His assistants are Pete Bush, Cordova; Hal Riddle, Hewitt-Trussville; Tripp Curry, Cherokee County; Swane Morris, Gaston; Rodney Stidham, Hamilton; and Royal Carpenter, Speake. Kyle Dawkins of Wetumpka will serve as administrative coach.

Members of the North football squad are:

QUARTERBACKS: Tyler Caldwell, Cullman; Conner McCain, Gardendale.

RUNNING BACKS: Alex Caldwell, Huntsville; Trey Hilliard, Gardendale; Dezman Ivor, Minor; Armadeus “Dez” Polk, Speake.

RECEIVERS: Marquise Diamond, Piedmont; Tevin Fletcher, Oxford; Walter Grayson, Tuscaloosa County; Ronnie McMillan, Tuscaloosa County.

OFFENSIVE LINEMEN: Luke Ayers, Guntersville; Blake Burgess, Vestavia Hills; Aaron Joiner, Florence; Seth Poe, Ragland; Russell Powell, Hartselle; Seth Shotts, Spain Park; Dustin Springer, John Carroll Catholic; Quintavies Williams, Hazlewood.

DEFENSIVE LINEMEN: Robbie Aldridge, Hewitt-Trussville; Taylor Carney, Brooks; Bryant Hawkins, Guntersville; Chris Holland, Deshler; David Maness, Gadsden City; Robert McCoy, Leeds OL/DL; Matthew Tinney, Spain Park.

LINEBACKERS: Tyrone Bowie, Gardendale; David Coats, Gadsden City; Jace Cordell, Cordova; Darryl Martin, Huntsville; Brandon Welch, Deshler.

DEFENSIVE BACKS: Levi Cook, Decatur; Cornelius Richards, Tuscaloosa County; Kenyatta Roach, Brooks; Jake Thompson, Sand Rock; Marshall Williams, Lincoln.

ATHLETE: T. J. Hoyt, Lincoln.

KICKER/PUNTER: Jay Benson, Scottsboro.