Representative named as Legislator of the Year

Published 9:16 am Friday, August 7, 2009

Alabama State Rep. Cam Ward of Alabaster was awarded Legislator of the Year by the Alabama State Chiropractic Association on July 21, 2009 at the Jefferson County Chiropractic Society, Shelby County Region Luncheon at the 1022 Tower Building in Alabaster.

Ward was selected by the Chiropractic Association for his invaluable help not only to the State Chiropractic Association, but also his leadership in the State House.

Algie Neil and Deborah Miller representing the Alabama State Chiropractic Association, presented Ward with a plague honoring him as Legislator of the Year.

Neil and Miller thanked Ward for his support to the association as well to District 14 of which Shelby County is a part.

Ward thanked the association for this prestigious award and expressed how honored he was to receive it.

He spoke to the group, highlighting his multi-facet agenda to help the citizens of his district as well as the state of Alabama: to improve the economic development of District 14 and Alabama; to aggressively recruit new businesses to expand the tax base and create new jobs; to improve our transportation system so that roads are built on need, not politics; to strengthen ethics reform by sponsoring a bill to give the Alabama Ethics Commission subpoena power; to continue to improve the state education system for the future of the state’s workforce rests in the minds of these students.

He thanked the association for their support and expressed his extreme gratitude for the award.

Ward was also recognized for his leadership in the area of raising awareness of autism.

Gov. Bob Riley recently signed into law the Riley Ward Bill, named for Ward’s autistic daughter, which establishes the Alabama Interagency Autism Coordinating Council.

Ward sponsored the trailblazing bill which will streamline the state efforts to assist autistic children as well as allow for the hiring of a state autism coordinator.

Among those attending the award presentation were: Miller, attorney with the Miller Development Group; Neil, Executive Director of Government Affairs of the Alabama State Chiropractic Association; Dr. Stan Stubbs, First Vice President of the state association; Dr. Justin Fogo, President of the Jefferson County Chiropractic Society and Dr. Ben Smith, Treasurer of the Jefferson County Chiropractic Society.

Phoebe Donald Robinson can be reached by e–mail at