Oak Mountain captures wrestling title at Alabama Duals

Published 1:22 am Wednesday, December 23, 2009

Two Oak Mountain High School wrestlers posted six pins each as the Eagles defeated Hoover 39-31 to capture the championship at the Alabama Duals wrestling meet Tuesday at the Birmingham Jefferson Convention Complex.

Jesse Smith and Whit Whitfield each recorded six pins during the two-day event. Smith capped his effort with a pin of Hoover’s Taylor Garlington in the 103-pound championship match. Whitfield pinned the Bucs’ Eddie Foster in the heavyweight championship bout.

Tanner Moon, Reid Bishop, Michael Bell, Jared Woodall and Justin Woodall also won their matches against Hoover.

Adam Beaton finished with five pins in the two-day meet. Jared and Justin Woodall recorded four pins each.

Thompson fell to Hoover 44-21 in the semifinals. Jalen Wesley, Corey Thomas, Chris Walker and Jimmy Miller each won their matches against the Bucs.

Nick Parten, Jesse Masters and Josh Gillaspie led the Warriors with four pins each during the Alabama Duals.

Pelham finished with a 3-2 record in the Panthers’ consolation bracket meets. Taylor Anchors and Cody Wehunt led the Panthers with five pins each over the two-day meet.

Spain Park and Shelby County each finished the consolation bracket meets with a 0-3-1 record, with the two teams tying each other 30-30 in the meet between the Jaguars and Wildcats.

Brothers Tommy and Geoffrey Bostany each went 9-0 in the two-day meet. Both Bostanys recorded five pins each. Geoffrey Bostany’s 9-0 record in 135-pound matches was the best record of any wrestler in his weight class.

Gerald Nichols led the Wildcats with four pins.

Below are the results from Oak Mountain’s win over Hoover in the championship meet and Thompson’s semifinal loss to the Bucs. Complete results from the Alabama Duals, which was hosted by the Thompson Wrestling Club, can be found online at Trackwrestling.com.

Oak Mountain 39, Hoover 31

103: Jesse Smith, Oak Mountain pin Payton Garlington, Hoover, 0:29;

112: Clay Moates, Hoover dec. Jake Smith, Oak Mountain, 6-0;

119: Tanner Moon, Oak Mountain won by forfeit;

125: Sam Avery, Hoover won by forfeit;

130: Michael Bond, Hoover pin Jacob Parker, Oak Mountain, 1:39;

135: Reid Bishop, Oak Mountain dec. Parker Grissom, Hoover, 8-5;

140: Michael Bell, Oak Mountain won by forfeit;

145: Jackson Poe, Hoover pin Vincent Kimbrough, Oak Mountain, 0:45;

152: Rush Hall, Hoover maj. dec. Victor Kimbrough, 10-1;

160: Jared Woodall, Oak Mountain pin Spencer Reynolds, Hoover, 0:11;

171: Justin Woodall, Oak Mountain pin Jacob Thoams, Hoover, 1:31;

189: Michael Kennedy, Hoover dec. Josh Greer, Oak Mountain, 3-2;

215: Teryence Glaze, Hoover dec. Adam Beaton, Oak Mountain, 13-9;

HWT: Whit Whitfield, Oak Mountain pin Eddie Foster, Hoover, 0:55.

Hoover 44, Thompson 21

103: Payton Garlington, Hoover maj. dec. Matt Gilson, Thompson, 11-2;

112: Clay Moates, Hoover pin Austin Gould, Thompson, 1:37;

119: Sam Avery, Hoover dec. Reed Jacks, Thompson, 5-4;

125: Michael Bond, Hoover pin Hayden Franklin, Thompson, 1:18;

130: Taylor Garlington, Hoover pin Brewer Gilliland, Thompson, 0:54;

135: Jalen Wesley, Thompson pin Edward Byrd, Hoover, 1:15;

140: Parker Grissom, Hoover dec. Nick Hall, Thompson, 3-2;

145: Jackson Poe, Hoover dec. Landon Vincent, Thompson, 8-2;

152: Rush Hall, Hoover dec. Josh Gillaspie, Thompson, 4-3;

160: Corey Thomas, Thompson dec. Spencer Reynolds, Hoover 7-5;

171: Chris Walker, Thompson pin Jacob Thoams, Hoover, 1:42;

189: Michael Kennedy, Hoover pin. Jesse Masters, Thompson, 0:14;

215: Teryence Glaze, Hoover maj. dec. Nick Parten, Thompson, 18-9;

HWT: Jimmy Miller, Thompson pin Eddie Foster, Hoover, 0:46.