Spain Park takes down Thompson in wrestling meet

Published 11:34 pm Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Six individual Spain Park High School wrestlers came out on top as the Jaguars edged Thompson 37-36 on the mat Jan. 12.

Tommy Bostany of Spain Park picked up a 12-0 major decision over Thompson’s Austin Gould in the 112-pound match. Spain Park’s Connor Whatley pinned the Warriors’ Nick Lowe in 29 seconds in the 119-pound match. Spain Park 130-pounder Conrad Hathcoat pinned Qy Ming of Thompson in 1:25.

Geoffrey Bostany of Spain Park pinned Thompson’s Tyler Hicks in 1:24. Spain Park’s Blake Daniels earned a 6-2 decision over Thompson’s Kolby Newton in the 160-pound match. The Jaguars’ Kameron Ricks pinned Alex Costes of Thompson in 4:39 in the 189-pound match.

Spain Park’s Martin Stone won by forfeit.

Dylan Gordon picked up Thompson’s first pin as he took down Spain Park’s Andrew Pitts in only 19 seconds in the 140-pound match. Landon Vincent of Thompson pinned the Jaguars’ Robbie Howard in 1:39 in the 145-pound match. Thompson’s Nick Gentily pinned Spain Park’s Alec Hudson in 1:04 in the 160-pound match.

Matt Gilson, Nick Parten and Jack Scott of Thompson each won by forfeit. Both teams forfeited the 125-pound match.

Complete results are listed below.

103 pounds: Matt Gilson, Thompson won by forfeit.

112: Tommy Bostany, Spain Park maj. dec. Austin Gould, Thompson, 12-0.

119: Connor Whatley, Spain Park pinned Nick Lowe, Thompson, 0:29.

125: Both teams forfeit.

130: Conrad Hatchcoat, Spain Park pinned Qy Ming, Thompson, 1:25.

135: Geoffrey Bostany, Spain Park pinned Tyler Hicks, Thompson, 1:24.

140: Dylan Gordon, Thompson pinned Andrew Pitts, Spain Park, 0:19.

145: Landon Vincent, Thompson pinned Robbie Howard, Spain Park, 1:39.

152: Martin Stone, Spain Park won by forfeit.

160: Nick Gentily, Thompson pinned Alec Hudson, Spain Park, 1:04.

171: Blake Daniels, Spain Park dec. Kolby Newton, Thompson, 6-2.

189: Kameron Ricks, Spain Park pinned Alex Costes, Thompson, 4:39.

215: Nick Parten, Thompson won by forfeit.

285: Jack Scott, Thompson won by forfeit.