Local students earn UM awards and scholarships

Published 10:34 am Tuesday, June 8, 2010

Twenty six Shelby County students recently earned awards and scholarships during the University of Montevallo’s Honors Day.

Three local students earned the Golden Key International Honour Society Scholarship, which is given to students who display academic excellence, community service, Golden Key chapter service and leadership.

Golden Key scholarship recipients were Daniel Bulger, of Columbiana; Darlene Skinner, of Helena; and Jonathan Haley, of Maylene.

Three other Shelby County residents were named Montevallo Masters, who will serve as official hosts and hostesses at many UM events.

Each year, the university uses a “rigorous” procedure to select only about 12 students to serve as Masters, according to a UM press release.

Ting Yu Su, of Alabaster; and Lauren P. Mitchell, of Chelsea; were named new Ambassadors. Barbara Czeskleba, of Montevallo, was named a Montevallo Masters coordinator.

Six local students also earned the Senior American Association of University Women Award, which is given to the senior women with the highest grade point averages at the school.

AAUW Award winners were Darlene Skinner, of Helena; Chelsea Brasher, Rachel Daniel, Corey Gros and Malorie Miller, of Montevallo; and Lauren Billingsley, of Wilsonville.

Candyce Osburn, of Alabaster, earned the Ann Lowery Bains Student Trustee Award Scholarship, which is awarded in honor of a former UM Trustee.

Calera resident Jillene Horton earned the school’s Montevallo Academic Leadership Scholarship, which recognizes entering freshmen for outstanding academic leadership and accomplishments.

Twelve Shelby County residents also earned the Montevallo Ambassador Program Scholarship, which is awarded to entering freshmen based on high school GPA, their ACT scores and an interview.

Ambassador Program scholarship recipients were Madison Jones, Ting Yu Su and Megan Traweek, of Alabaster; and Denis Gichoya, Vadim Ismakaev, Carolyne Karanja, Gintrelle Merritt, Jaclyn Morlan, James Ndirangu, Ogla Pikrun, Sanzhar Sadykov and Pavel Teterin, of Montevallo.