Chelsea All-Stars reach Dizzy Dean tournament semifinals

Published 11:13 am Thursday, July 8, 2010

The last remaining Shelby County team was eliminated after reaching the semifinals of the Dizzy Dean 7-and-under baseball state tournament.

The Chelsea All-Stars fell to Northport 13-4 to end their run July 7.

“We lost to a good team, a very well-coached team,” said Chelsea head coach Tony Webster. “(Northport) was consistent on offense and defense.”

Although hitting was effective early on for Chelsea, it was the defense that helped the team get to the semifinals.

“Our outfield carried us far; defense got us this deep (in the tournament),” Webster said.

Prior to the game, a ban was enacted on a bat popular with many teams.

The “Easton Stealth” was banned when Easton contacted Alabama Dizzy Dean director Jim Dunn. The reason for the ban is still unclear.

“We had to use heavier bats, which messed up other teams too,” Webster said.

The loss ended Chelsea’s season, but vacation plans already in the works.

“It’s been a long summer and the season ends here. Most of us are already focusing on vacations,” Webster said.

The Chelsea team includes Connor Ball, Joshua Bass, Collier Blair, Stephen Davis, Nick Foster, Peyton Harris, Dalton Reames, Adam Reaves, Matthew Robbins, Carson Rogers, Jackson Weaver, and Jackson Webster.

Seven-and-under teams from Shelby County and Oak Mountain also participated in the state tournament.

The Shelby County team defeated Walker County and Gardendale, but was eliminated after losses to Springville and Northport.

“It was the first time they played as a team all tournament season,” Cardwell said.

The Shelby County team included Jordan Morris, Kaden Caldwell, Austin Harris, Riley Lewter, Ben Garner, Eli Jones, T.J. McGinnis, Chase Newman, Wyatt Miskelly, John Paul Fox, Eathan Farr and Hall Hobbs.

“It was the first time they played as a team all tournament season,” which led them to this victory, Cardwell said.

The Oak Mountain team fell to Springville in the opening round and was eliminated from the tournament by Northport.

“We gave a lot of effort,” head coach Scott Yeager said.

As one of the youngest teams in the tournament, the Oak Mountain squad is more concerned with gaining experience and enjoying baseball, Yeager said.

“We are a very young team to be in the all-star tournament,” Yeager said. “We’re going to teach them all we can about baseball, but also we’re just happy to be here and we’re going to focus on fun.”

The Oak Mountain team includes Parker Campbell, Andrew McCary, Mason Collins, Max Yeager, Wes Sanders, Riley Manning, Jackson Swarts, Luke Wolf, Aaron Cale, Luke Smith, Sam Ehlers and Kyle Percer.