Chelsea, Shelby County win Dizzy Dean tournament openers

Published 10:51 am Sunday, July 11, 2010

Chelsea 12-and-under All-Stars coach Alan Briggs hasn’t been telling his team to aim for the fences during the Dizzy Dean circuit.

“We’re just trying to hit line drives and see what happens,” Briggs said.

What’s happening is a power blast from the front end of his batting order, including three home runs in an 11-3 win over East Walker in the opener of the Dizzy Dean State tournament July 10 at the Columbiana Sports Complex.

Leadoff hitter Chase Wilson hit two towering shots and Kobe Grayson added a two-run homer to lead Chelsea to a win in its opener.

Chelsea has won the Chelsea Invitational, Leeds Invitational, an area tournament and a district tournament so far during the 2010 Dizzy Dean circuit.

“The team is playing hard,” Briggs said. “They are encouraging one another out there.”

The 12-and-under Chelsea team includes Wilson, Grayson, Cade Adams, Jake Harkins, Tyler Warren, Ian Briggs, Blake Travelstead, Michael Walker, Jay Grove, Christopher Robinson, Grant Mitchell and Jacob Tidwell.

The Shelby County 12-and-under All-Stars opened the tournament with a 12-10 win over the Parkwest Triple Threat in extra innings.

Kyle Cofer was hit by a pitch to lead off the eighth inning and scored on an infield hit by Coleman Beasley for the go-ahead run. Blythe added an RBI double to cap the scoring for Shelby County.

Blythe finished 4-for-5 with a solo homer and two doubles and drove in four runs.

Tanner Carter had a grand slam in the fourth inning.

The Shelby County team, coached by Jerry Moore, includes Carter, Blythe, Cofer, Beasley, Cole Pate, Mack Slaughter, Zeke Robinson, Tyler Carter, Jeremiah Pennington, Cameron Morris, Kolby Morris and Logan Moore.

The Vincent 12-and-under All-Stars dropped its opener to Blount County.

The Vincent team, coached by Walter Garner, includes Ryan Childers, Ethan Davis, Kristopher Phillips, Dontrell Calhoun, Jordan Smith, Matthew Swift, Hayden Laddie, Terrell Calhoun, Saylor Carroll and Ar’Shon Willis.

The Calera 12-and-under All-Stars fell to the Northport Nationals in their opener.

The Calera team, coached by Don Young, includes Chase Walker, Chris Sanchez, Logan Woods, Matthew Young, Josh Lomax, Dylan Brantley, Christian Andrews, Austin Belk, Zach Harris, Johnathan Brown, Brady Hughes and Tyler Ferguson.