Thompson wrestlers record three wins at Chelsea tournament

Published 1:03 pm Sunday, December 5, 2010


The Thompson High School wrestling squad picked up three victories and a tie at the Chelsea tournament Dec. 3-4.

The Warriors defeated Calera, Homewood and host Chelsea during the tournament.

Thompson also finished in a tie with McAdory at the tournament.

Eleven Thompson wrestlers recorded a win as the Warriors shut out host Chelsea 76-0 during the tournament.

Brandon Belser of Thompson picked up a 16-0 technical fall over the Hornets’ Justin Medler in the 112-pound match. Cody McDanal of Thompson pinned Chelsea’s Blake Travelstead in the 119-pound match.

The Warriors’ Hunter Gatlin pinned Travelstead in the 125-pound match. Thompson 130-pounder Nick Lowe earned an 18-2 technical fall over Chandler Wood of Chelsea.

Thompson’s Jackson Adelberg pinned Trevor Lawler of Chelsea in the 135-pound match. The Warriors’ Jacob Mayhall pinned Chelsea’s Michael Early in 140-pound action.

Thompson 145-pounder Wil Fondren pinned the Hornets’ Corey Moore. Trey Berryhill of Thompson earned a pin in his 152-pound match against Zakary Van Der Geest of Chelsea.

The Warriors’ Cahman Holder pinned Hunter Needham of Chelsea in 160-pound action. Shane Evans of Thompson pinned the Hornets’ Shane Paramore in the 171-pound match.

Thompson heavyweight David Capers pinned David Downard of Chelsea.

The Warriors picked up a 72-12 win over Calera in the tournament.

Clay Anthony of Thompson pinned the Eagles’ Brian McDonald in the 103-pound match. McDanal pinned Austin Dowdy of Calera in the 119-pound match.

Gatlin pinned Calera’s Keenan Agee in 125-pound action. Adelberg pinned Jake Thomas of Calera in the 135-pound match.

Mayhall pinned Shawn O’Neill of Calera in the 140-pound match. Berryhill pinned Calera’s Coby Mize in 152-pound action.

Evans pinned the Eagles’ Cody Thomaston in the 171-pound match. Capers pinned Danny Diaz of Calera in the 215-pound match.

Six Thompson wrestlers earned pins in a 68-6 win over Homewood during the tournament.

Anthony, Belser, Mayhall, Fondren, Berryhill and Holder each won by pin during the match against the Patriots.

Six Warriors pinned their respective opponents in Thompson’s 36-36 tie with McAdory.

Belser, Gatlin, Mayhall, Fondren, Holder and Hunter Pinneo each picked up a pin in the match.

Calera defeated Homewood and fell to McAdory and the host Hornets in the tournament.

Four Chelsea wrestlers won their individual matches in a 42-36 win over Calera.

Chandler Wood of Chelsea pinned Calera’s Keenan Agee in the 125-pound match.

Chelsea 140-pounder Michael Early pinned the Eagles’ Shawn O’Neill. Shana Paramore of Chelsea pinned Calera’s Cody Thomaston in a 171-pound match.

Danny Diaz of Calera pinned Chelsea heavyweight David Downard.

Two Calera wrestlers pinned their Chelsea foes.

The Eagles’ Jake Thomas pinned Trevor Lawler of Chelsea in the 135-pound match. Calera’s Coby Mize pinned John Dowd of Chelsea in the 152-pound match.

Three Eagles won their individual matches in a 42-30 loss to McAdory.

Christian McDonald, Thomaston and Mize each won by pin.

Five Calera wrestlers emerged victorious in a 54-12 win over Homewood.

Mize and Jarrett Seiger each won by pin. Thomaston and Austin Dowdy each won by decision. Brian McDonald won by disqualification.

In addition to the Chelsea tournament, Thompson split four matches Dec. 4 at the University of Tennessee-Chattanooga Old Timer’s Cup.

Thompson defeated Auburn and Ringgold. The Warriors fell to Alexander and Baylor School.

Twelve Warriors won their individual matches in a 64-9 win over Auburn.

Conner Gilson, Austin Gould, Nick Hall, Josh Gillaspie, Jesse Masters, Jimmy Miller and Jack Scott won by pin.

John Austin (J.A.) Jones won by major decision. Demario Haynes and Brewer Gilliland earned decisions over their respective opponents. Chris Lloyd and Stanton Costes won by forfeit.

Eight Thompson wrestlers won their individual matches in a 42-31 win over Ringgold.

Gilliland, Masters, Miller and Scott won by pin. Hall won by technical fall and Gillaspie won by major decision. Lloyd earned a decision over his opponent and Jones won by forfeit.

Eight Warriors won their individual matches in a 39-38 loss to Alexander.

Jones, Gillaspie, Masters and Miller each won by pin. Lloyd won by technical fall and Hall earned a decision over his foe. Luis Munoz and Gilson won by forfeit.

Five Thompson wrestlers won individual matches in a 47-27 loss to Baylor School.

Gillaspie and Masters each won by pin. Miller won his match by decision. Gould and Scott won by forfeit.