Bentley appoints local representatives to health council

Published 4:07 pm Thursday, February 10, 2011


Gov. Robert Bentley has appointed three local representatives to serve on the State Health Coordinating Council.

Rep. Jim McClendon, R-Springville, Rep. Mary Sue McClurkin, R-Indian Springs, and Rep. April Weaver, R-Alabaster, were all appointed to the council.

The council is a board of the State Health Planning and Development Agency.

Bentley said he has full confidence in the new board members.

“Those I appointed, or re-appointed, have a wealth of experience in their respective fields and will make the right decisions as they serve in their capacity as board members,” he said.

Other new members of the State Health Coordinating Council are: Dr. Ruth Yates, Dr. James Walburn, Dr. Vera Soong, Ruth Harrell, Dr. Gillis Payne, Dr. McCain Ashurst, Dr. Theodis Buggs, Dr. Tommy Bender, Dr. Jeff Underwood III, Robbie Owen, Brenda Culver, William Smith, Rebecca Thrasher, Judy Merritt, John Killian, Brandon Farmer, Mary Holcomb, Sen. Greg Reed, Ross Gunnells and F. Wayne Pate.