Sixteen nominated to succeed Joiner

Published 5:02 pm Friday, March 11, 2011

By BRAD GASKINS / Staff Writer

Sixteen attorneys have been nominated to succeed former Shelby County Circuit Court Judge Michael Joiner, who now sits on the state’s Court of Criminal Appeals.

The 16 individuals are: John Bahakel, Richard W. Bell, Bill Bostick, Darrell Cartwright, J. Michael Campbell, John M. Eades Jr., Bradley L. Hendrix, Rhonda Hood, Russelle L. Hubbard, Jill Karle, John Bradley Felton, Ricky J. McKinney, Corey B. Moore, Ferris S. Ritchey III, Richard Shuleva and Stella Tipton.

The Shelby County Judicial Commission will be available to meet with these 16 individuals and to take comments from the general public on March 28 at 2 p.m.

Following that meeting, commission members will meet and select the names of three individuals to be sent to Gov. Robert Bentley for consideration. The final appointment in is Bentley’s hands.

Judicial commission members include Circuit Court Judge Hewitt “Sonny” Conwill, Doug Key, Jim Pino, Roy Martin and Bill Schroeder.