Goal scorers lead All-County teams

Published 6:00 am Wednesday, June 8, 2011

Spain Park High School sophomore Simone Charley (Left) and Indian Springs School senior Alexander (A.J.) Jamroz (Right) were named the 2011 Players of the Year. (Photos/Jon Goering; Illustration/Daniel Holmes)

By WESLEY HALLMAN / Sports Editor

Opposing defenders had a difficult time staying with Spain Park High School sophomore forward Simone Charley and Indian Springs School senior forward Alexander (A.J.) Jamroz this spring.

They weren’t alone. So did the rest of the competition for high school soccer Player of the Year honors in Shelby County during the 2011 season.

Charley, who was named the Gatorade Player of the Year following her third season with the Jaguars, and Jamroz, who led the entire nation in goals scored this past season while setting multiple Alabama High School Athletic Association scoring records, were runaway picks as Shelby County’s top soccer players.

Charley became the third consecutive Spain Park player to be honored as the state’s Gatorade Player of the Year in three years after she led the Jaguars to a third consecutive AHSAA Class 6A girls’ soccer championship last month. Charley was the fifth Spain Park player to win the award and earned the school’s sixth Gatorade Player of the Year award.

Charley, who led Spain Park in goals scored as a freshman, used her speed to lead the Jaguars with 31 goals as a sophomore. Charley was also effective as a decoy in the Spain Park offensive attack and set up teammates for another 16 goals during the season.

Charley split time between her soccer responsibilities and the Spain Park girls’ track and field team, where she shined in field events for the Jaguars. Charley capped the track and field season with the AHSAA Class 6A girls’ individual triple jump championship just one week before leading Spain Park to the AHSAA Class 6A girls’ soccer title.

Charley was named the AHSAA Class 6A girls’ soccer state tournament’s most valuable player.

Jamroz cemented his status as one of the best high school soccer players in the state’s history after scoring a record 85 goals as a senior, which broke the AHSAA scoring record across all classifications.

Jamroz, who was named the AHSAA Class 4A-1A state tournament’s most valuable player after leading Indian Springs to a state championship as a freshman, helped his school return to the state title match this season.

Jamroz, who wrapped up his career with a state record 157 goals in his four-year career, was named the Lakeshore tournament’s most valubale player this spring. Jamroz was also named the Birmingham Metro Golden Boot award winner this season.



G – Schyler Arnold, Spain Park, Jr.

D – Lauren Swee, Chelsea, Sr.

D – Kristen Gehring, Thompson, Jr.

D – Dabney Hofammann, Indian Springs, Sr.

M – Annalika Steyn, Spain Park, Sr.

M – Ally Jennings, Briarwood Christian, Sr.

M – Iyani Hughes, Chelsea, Sr.

M – Bailee Harnett, Oak Mountain, Jr.

F – Simone Charley, Spain Park, Soph.

F – Jessica Bird, Pelham, Sr.

F – Vicki Hill, Oak Mountain, Jr.

Honorable mention: Toni Payne, Haley Gerken, Christina Rodriguez and Jill Hester, Oak Mountain; Natalie Alcaino, Cassie Shiflett and Selina Delgadillo, Pelham; Lakin Eddy, Madeline Hughes and Marie Blunt, Spain Park; Alli Watts, Alyssa Mayer and Tatum Harless, Thompson; Leanne Holliman, Marie Tucker and Catherine Cowen, Briarwood Christian; Kaity Potter, Mara Roberts and Ashleigh Niven, Chelsea; Mallory Matthews, Paula Simonetti and Laura McMullan, Indian Springs; Alexia Figueroa and Bethany Rogers, Chelsea.



G – Brenton Thompson, Oak Mountain, Sr.

D – Chris Burris, Briarwood Christian, Sr.

D – Philip Dublin, Pelham, Sr.

D – Christian Adkins, Oak Mountain, Jr.

M – Jacob Ramsey, Thompson, Jr.

M – John Imwalle, Oak Mountain, Sr.

M – Donny Maciel, Oak Mountain, Sr.

M – Travis Mitchell, Chelsea, Sr.

F – Alexander (A.J.) Jamroz, Indian Springs, Sr.

F – Jacob Taggart, Spain Park, Soph.

F – Ashley Page, Chelsea, Sr.

Honorable mention: Alexander Rivera, Brandt Mace and Reid Biasco, Oak Mountain; Hunter Payant, Karsten Hicks and Diego Lopez, Pelham; Jack O’Neil, Greg Yund and Chris Wright, Spain Park; Aaron Baird, Jarred McKinney and Eric Hubbard, Thompson; Benson Mulvaney, Hunter Smith, Zach Bekken and Jordan Box, Briarwood Christian; Dakota Dresbach, Eric King and Josh Carpenter, Chelsea; Joseph Simonetti, Jake Shuford and Hart Wilson, Indian Springs; Irvin Alverenga, Christian Alverenga and Jecsan Sanchez, Calera; Whitten Green and Wellford Moore, Westminster.