Five Falcons selected to all-conference team

Published 1:52 pm Friday, November 4, 2011


Five University of Montevallo men’s soccer team players earned spots on the Peach Belt Conference All-Conference teams following the 2011 season.

Sophomore goalkeeper Brendan Ledgeway was named to the first team, while senior midfielder Tyson Eyo, junior forward Shane Howard, junior defender Mike Rinzema and sophomore defender Gary O’Neill were named to the second team.

Ledgway leads the conference with a .824 save percentage and a 0.66 goals against average and is second with 10 wins. Ledgeway has 10 shutouts this season, which leads the conference and broke the Montevallo school record for longest shutout streak earlier this season with 529 consecutive minutes of shutout soccer.

Eyo is tied for second with four assists and is currently fifth on the team with three goals. Eyo has started all 18 games for the Falcons in the midfield and is one of the go-to players for free kicks. Howard leads the team with eight goals, which is tied for seventh in the conference. He also has a pair of assists.

Rinzema and O’Neill have been anchors on the Falcons’ defensive line. The defenders were an integral part of the 529 minute scoreless streak and have helped produce the 10 shutouts. In the Falcons’ first round conference tournament victory, they were part of the defense that did not allow a shot on goal in Montevallo’s 2-0 victory.

Ledgeway and O’Neill were both named second team All-Conference last season, while Eyo, Howard and Rinzema make their first appearance on the All-Conference team.

Ledgeway, Eyo, Howard, Rinzema, O’Neill and the rest of the Falcons will take the field Nov. 4 at 6:30 p.m. against UNC-Pembroke in the semifinals of the Peach Belt Conference tournament.