Two Hoover teachers make state final four

Published 10:34 am Wednesday, April 25, 2012

By AMY JONES / Associate Editor

HOOVER — Both Hoover teachers in the running for Alabama Teacher of the Year made the cut as the list of finalists shrank from 16 to four.

Mandy Fox, a gifted education teacher from Greystone Elementary School, and Suzanne Culbreth, a geometry teacher from Spain Park High School, are finalists.

Mandy Fox.

Fox is up against Meghan Everette from George Hall Elementary in the Mobile County school district in the elementary schools category, while Culbreth is against Karen Clem from Athens High School in the Athens City school district in the secondary schools category.

Fox said she was honored to be part of the state’s top four and thanked her supporters.

“There are so many wonderful teachers who have influenced me along the way and made me who I am, that they are truly the ones who are being recognized with this accomplishment,” Fox said. “Also, without my husband and family supporting me and my crazy ideas each and every day, I would never have the ability to be where I am.”

Culbreth said her goal is to represent her fellow Hoover teachers with class.

“I am both humbled and ecstatic about being named to the final four for Alabama Teacher of the Year,” she said. “I have worked with so many wonderful teachers that pour their lives into the classroom each and every day. My hope is to represent them well.”

Each school system across the state had the opportunity to nominate an elementary teacher and a secondary teacher for the award.

Suzanne Culbreth.

State Superintendent of Education Dr. Tommy Bice said in a press release that the final four candidates are all deserving of praise.

“The final four are educators who have given more than just their time and attention; they have given all their energy and expertise to help to prepare students for the world,” Bice said.

The next step for the four finalists is an extensive interview with the state judging committee, followed by the live broadcast awards ceremony on May 9 on Alabama Public Television at 7 p.m.