Spain Park’s Mullens named player of the year

Published 9:39 am Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Spain Park senior quarterback Nick Mullens was chosen as the Shelby County Reporter player of the year. (Reporter photo/Jon Goering)

By MICKEL PONTHIEUX / Sports Reporter

Spain Park senior Nick Mullens leads a talented list of football players from all over Shelby County in the 2012 all-county team and was named the Shelby County Reporter player of the Year.

Mullens led the Jaguars to the quarterfinal round of the 2012 Class 6A playoffs and to Spain Park’s first ever region championship. The Spain Park senior threw for 3,649 yards on the season with 40 touchdowns while completing 64 percent (290-452) of his passes.

Since the end of the season, Mullens was named the 2012 Gatorade Player of the Year and has committed to play at the University of Alabama-Birmingham next fall. Mullens was also an honorable mention on the Class 6A all-state team.

Joining Mullens in the all-county backfield are Julius McCall of Chelsea and Eli Beall of Pelham. Briarwood’s Daniel Roberts and Calera’s Jordan Bishop are the all-county wide receivers. Chelsea’s Keelan Gregg was named the all-county tight end.

Oak Mountain’s Billy Dasher leads the all-county offensive line after being named to the Class 5A all-state team. Pelham’s Josh Martin and Gardner Fish, Shelby County’s Jacob Oliver and Spain Park’s Bryan Novick rounds out the 2012 all-county offensive line.

Calera’s Ronnie Clark was named the all-county athlete for his talents on offense, defense and special teams. Clark rushed for 644 yards and nine touchdowns and caught 52 passes for 538 yards and four scores. He added four punt returns for 99 yards including one for a score.

Vincent’s Anterio Rogers leads the all-county defensive backfield after being selected to the Class 2A all-state team. Calera’s Sam Adams, Shelby County’s Jacob Tidmore and Pelham’s Antonio London rounds out the defensive backs.

Sheldon Nixon of Calera leads a talented corps of all-county linebackers. Nixon was named to the Class 4A all-state team and is joined by Spain Park’s Jeniah Jackson and Oak Mountain’s John Michael Miller.

The all-county defensive line is made up of Chelsea’s Troy Marshall, Calera’s Garrett Reddin, Briarwood’s Jordan Carroll and Kingwood’s Titus Adams.

Spain Park’s Thomas Taylor was named the all-county kicker and is joined by Stephen Ellison as the all-county punter. Hope Christian’s Charles Streets was named the all-county kick returner.


2012 All-Shelby County football team

QB – Nick Mullens, Spain Park

RB – Julius McCall, Chelsea; Eli Beall, Pelham

WR – Jordan Bishop, Calera; Daniel Roberts, Briarwood

OL – Billy Dasher, Oak Mountain; Josh Martin, Pelham; Gardner Fish, Pelham; Jacob Oliver, Shelby County; Bryant Novick, Spain Park

TE – Keelan Gregg, Chelsea

ATH – Ronnie Clark, Calera

DL – Troy Marshall, Chelsea, Garrett Reddin, Calera, Jordan Carroll, Briarwood; Titus Adams, Kingwood

LB – Sheldon Nixon, Calera; Jeniah Jackson, Spain Park; John Michael Miller, Oak Mountain

DB – Anterio Rogers, Vincent; Sam Adams, Calera; Jacob Tidmore, Shelby County; Antonio London, Pelham

K – Thomas Taylor, Spain Park

P – Stephen Ellison, Calera

KR – Charles Streets, Hope Christian

Honorable Mention:Briarwood Christian: Ethan Simmons, Will Byers, Jonathan Paramore. Calera: Zack Reneau, Lane Johnson, Shakeith Tyes, Josh Wood, Tyler Pritchett. Chelsea: Darian Golden, Troy Marshall, JR Appling, Taylor Martindale, Josh Carpenter. Coosa Valley: Andrew Nelson. Cornerstone Christian: BJ Smith, Sterling Reither, Adrian Young. Evangel Christian: Andrew Thompson, David Baggett, Josh Letson, Pete Sullivan. Hope Christian: Andrew Whitson, Dillon Thompson, Jonathan Misso. Kingwood Christian: Jacob Bussey, Montez Haynes. Montevallo: Quintezz Stevens, Ronezz Stevens, Landon Goodwin. Oak Mountain: Jake Kelley, Scott Hester, Josh Gaines, Lloyd Time, Jake Adams, Tommy McGowan, Austin Moro. Pelham: Chisom Murako, Antonio London. Spain Park: Otis Harris, Ben Olinger, Cade Hoffman, Drake Grisham, Jacob Chaffin, Devin Pughsley, Jake Wolkow. Shelby County: Ty Proctor, Marterius McGregor, Brandon Shields, Matt Youngblood. Thompson: Dee Tolbert, Trey Matherson, David Buckalew, Austin Bates, Eric Reeves, Blake Lewis, Akeem Manzano, Hunter Pinneo. Vincent: Rodney Groce, Demauntey Johnson, Ryan Kelow.