Beverly named first team All-Peach Belt Conference

Published 3:39 pm Tuesday, March 5, 2013


AUGUSTA, Ga. – University of Montevallo sophomore Taylor Beverly became the first player in the women’s basketball program to be named first team All-Peach Belt Conference following the release of the women’s basketball All-Conference teams March 5 by the conference office.

Beverly, who was also the first Montevallo women’s basketball player to be named the Peach Belt Conference Player of the Week during the regular season, is the second Falcon to receive postseason recognition since Montevallo joined the conference prior to the 2009-2010 season. Alicia Lewis was named third team All-Peach Belt Conference following the Falcons’ first season in the conference back in 2009-2010.

The 5-foot-10 forward from Brandon, Miss. enters the upcoming Peach Belt Conference tournament among the conference leaders in several categories.

Beverly, who leads the conference with 12 double-double efforts this season, is currently fourth in the conference in scoring with an average of 17.5 points per game. Beverly is also fourth in the conference in rebounding with an average of 8.6 boards per game.

Beverly is seventh in the conference in field-goal percentage with her 50.2 percent shooting from the floor this season.

Beverly and her teammates return to action Thursday, March 7 in the quarterfinal round of the Peach Belt Conference tournament. Montevallo, the No. 2 seed in the West Division, will face Flagler College, the No. 3 seed in the East Division, in the opening round of the tournament.

Tip off is set for 2 p.m. CST at the Frank G. Lumpkin Center on the Columbus State University campus in Columbus, Ga.

Peach Belt Conference Women’s Basketball
2012-13 All-Conference Team

First Team
Taylor Beverly, Montevallo
Jaymee Carnes, North Georgia
Drameka Griggs, Clayton State
Williesha Spencer, Flagler
Daniela Tarailo, USC Aiken

Second Team
Brittany Hill, USC Aiken
Mimi Hill, North Georgia
Tanchelle Hollingsworth, Augusta State
Shanteona Keys, Georgia College
Kayla Mobley, Clayton State
Taren White, Columbus State

Third Team
Taylor Ayers, Augusta State
Stephanie Huffman, North Georgia
Shacamra Jackson,  Clayton State
Jazmine Kemp, UNC Pembroke

Player of the Year
Drameka Griggs, Clayton State

Freshman of the Year
Kayla Price, Clayton State

Defensive Player of the Year
Shacamra Jackson, Clayton State

Coach of the Year
Nate Teymer, Augusta State