SCBOE approves Chelsea High principal, LNLC and Inverness assistant principals

Published 12:15 pm Friday, June 7, 2013

By KATIE MCDOWELL/Managing Editor

COLUMBIANA – The Shelby County Board of Education approved Wayne Trucks as principal of Chelsea High School during its June 6 meeting.

Trucks will replace Jay Peoples, who was named principal of Helena High in May.

“It’s a great opportunity,” trucks said. “Chelsea is a great community, great school.”

Trucks has served in public education for more than 18 years. He has spent the last six years at Chelsea High as a teacher, administrative assistant and assistant principal. He has a bachelor’s degree in history and Spanish from Auburn University and a master of education degree and education specialist degree from the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

The Board also approved Todd Crenshaw as the assistant principal of Linda Nolen Learning Center and Jeff Norris as assistant principal of Inverness Elementary.

Crenshaw is entering his 15th year as a special educator and his 12th year at the Linda Nolen Learning Center, where he was named administrative assistant in 2012. Prior to that, he taught sixth graders in an alternative environment.

Crenshaw earned a bachelor’s degree in urban studies from Jackson State University, a master’s degree in special education from the University of New Orleans and a master’s degree in teacher leadership from the University of Montevallo.

Norris is currently the administrative assistant at Montevallo Elementary School. He has been an educator for eight years in the Shelby County School System.

Norris has an educational specialist degree in teacher leadership and a master’s degree in instructional leadership from the University of Montevallo, a master’s degree in gifted education from the University of South Alabama, and a bachelor’s degree in elementary education from the University of Alabama.

He is also a National Board Certified Middle Childhood Generalist. Norris was named Shelby County Schools Elementary Teacher of the Year for 2011-2012 and was a Jacksonville State University Teacher Hall of Fame State Finalist