Locals advance in School Board Member Academy

Published 10:38 am Tuesday, December 3, 2013


MONTGOMERY — Nine local school board members will be among 317 board members honored at the Alabama Association of School Boards’ annual convention Dec. 5-7 at the Hyatt Regency Birmingham-The Wynfrey Hotel.

The members will be recognized for advancing to a new level in AASB’s School Board Member Academy, as well as their efforts to improve their boardmanship skills, increase their understanding of education issues and heighten their leadership skills by participating in the academy.

It is such a pleasure to see our members invest in their development as school board leaders,” said AASB President Steve Foster of Lowndes County. “With 21 years of experience as a Lowndes County school board member, I know how much of a commitment board service is.”

The nine members represent AASB’s District 5, which includes the Shelby County school board, and the Alabaster and Hoover city school boards.

Listed below are the members and the levels they achieved:

 Level I (Requires 25 training hours)

  • Jimmy Bice, Shelby County
  • Dr. John Myrick, Alabaster

Levels I and II (Requires 50 training hours)

  • Stephen Presley, Hoover

Level III (Requires 75 training hours)

  • Jane Hampton, Shelby County
  • Aubrey Miller, Shelby County

 Levels II and III

  • Derrick Murphy, Hoover
  • Paulette Pearson, Hoover

 Level IV (Requires 100 training hours, including eight core curriculum courses)

  • Donna Frazier, Hoover

 Master Level (Requires Level IV plus 15 hours, including one additional core course)

  • Peg Hill, Shelby County, second year