15 attorneys vying for circuit judge seat

Published 5:42 pm Monday, January 27, 2014


COLUMBIANA — Fifteen attorneys have been nominated to succeed Shelby County Circuit Judge Hub Harrington, who will retire effective Feb. 15.

The deadline for submitting nominations to the Shelby County Judicial Commission was Jan. 27 at 2 p.m.  The nominated attorneys are:

  • William Marsh Acker III
  • Laura McAuley Alvis
  • Nicholas P. Callahan III
  • William P. Clifford
  • John M. Eades Jr.
  • Aubrey “Jay” Holloway
  • Jill T. Karle
  • Patrick E. Kennedy
  • Corey B. Moore
  • Jennifer M. Neumann
  • Victor M. Portella
  • Richard C. Shuleva
  • Stella K. Tipton
  • Kathryn H. Varner
  • Henry “Trey” Woodrow

Each nominee will be required to sign an authorization allowing the commission to obtain information from all sources, including, federal, state, or local government agencies.

The commission will meet Feb. 10 at 1 p.m. to select three of the 15 nominees whose names will be submitted to Gov. Robert Bentley. Bentley will then have 90 days to fill the vacancy.

Harrington announced his plans to retire in December after 12 years on the bench. Harrington said in a news release that his post-retirement plans include returning to private practice, providing services as a mediator, arbitrator, private judge and special master.