Montevallo City Council honors middle and high school students and staff

Published 11:39 am Thursday, February 27, 2014

Montevallo Middle School scholar's bowl recently placed second in an all county competition. (Ginny Cooper / For the Reporter)

Montevallo Middle School scholar’s bowl recently placed second in an all county competition. (Ginny Cooper / For the Reporter)

By GINNY COOPER / Staff writer

MONTEVALLO—Montevallo City Council began their Feb. 24 meeting by recognizing high achieving students from Montevallo middle school and high school.

“This is our opportunity to recognize our students. It’s always special when you’re here,” Montevallo Mayor Hollie Cost said to the students during her welcome.

Shelia Lewis, principal at Montevallo Middle School, congratulated the sixth grade scholar’s bowl, which recently placed second in an all county competition.

Lewis congratulated the team’s sponsor, Carolyn Nelson, and all of the students on the team: Evan Zou, Miranda Martin, Jennifer Acosta and Grayson Fulmer, who scored the most points for the entire competition.

Lewis also named four students of the week: Jason Ocampo, Tianna Kennedy, Tyelin Maddox and Austin Parker.

“He’s always respectful and friendly,” Lewis said about Ocampo. “He makes a point to be kind.”

Lewis said that Kennedy is both pleasant and a dedicated students.

“She’s very conscientious about schoolwork,” Lewis said.

Lewis named Mona Guraya and Donna Long as faculty of the month.

“She (Guraya) wants to make sure students do well. She’s always looking to improve, and she really has a heart for teaching and for her students,” Lewis said.

Lewis also congratulated Long, and said she is “the best reading teacher I’ve ever seen in my 30 years as an educator.”

Dr. Wesley Hester, principal of Montevallo High School, congratulated all of the winners of Montevallo’s academic excellence award: Dakota Sharpe, Parker McClure, Chandler Ellis, Nina Murphy, Danielle Lawson and Christina Morris.

Hester also acknowledged all of the winners of Montevallo’s excellence in service award: Porche Pearson, Courtney Norsworthy, Elizabeth White, Kenny Oswald and Antwain Cunningham.

Jo Ann Epperson, Yvonne Silas and Cathy Majors were the recipients of Montevallo’s school staff excellence awards, and Jennifer Turner and Greg Dickinson were awarded Montevallo’s excellent educator award.

“I could talk all night about the positive impact Coach D has on our school,” Hester said of Dickinson.

The students and staff all received certificates congratulating them on their achievements.