No change at the top of Alabaster School Board

Published 3:48 pm Tuesday, May 13, 2014

By NEAL WAGNER / Managing Editor

The top two leadership positions on the Alabaster Board of Education will not change over the next year, board members decided during a May 12 meeting.



During the meeting, School Board members voted unanimously to re-elect Adam Moseley as the board’s president and to re-elect Derek Henderson as the board’s vice president.

Henderson nominated Moseley for the president position, and board member John Myrick nominated Henderson for vice president.

According to state law, the School Board must elect its president and vice president each year during its first meeting in May.

This will mark the second straight year Moseley and Henderson will serve in the leadership capacities, as they were also elected as president and vice president, respectively, in May 2013.

Before Moseley became president in 2013, Melanie Shores, who stepped down from the board in March 2013 citing health reasons, served as president. School Board member Ty Quarles served as the vice president before Henderson was elected to the seat in 2013.

After the May 12 officer elections, Alabaster School Superintendent Dr. Wayne Vickers praised the board members for their work over the past school year.

“I want to comment the entire board for the leadership you have provided this school year, our first,” Vickers said.